Poets logo

Returned

For my other half, T.S.

By Keesha M.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

How many years? Must you be old,

When love penetrates your heart?

Is 10 too young, 90 too old,

For romance to play its part.

When he was nine and I was ten,

We shared glances on the playground.

Him running plays and turning flips,

Until a note came ‘cross my path.

My answer; Yes! But the question still

To this day dances in my head.

His girlfriend I would be,

But not knowing how, I was uncertain.

Amazing me, he was more than giving

Until one day my parents deemed

The union was not to linger.

For his edges were rough

My parents felt he might slice my delicate fingers

Years went on and I progressed,

Feeling more and more alone.

We’d both moved away and no contact,

So there’d be no calling home.

Times would come and minds would drift,

But one thing was for sure.

The pure formed love that scarred us both,

Has seldom ever been reborn.

So there I was broken in place

Fighting those bitter feelings,

When I saw you there; a friend of mine

And it seemed your heart was also torn.

I sent my words only to uplift,

But a small spark took hold

And new flames began to burn.

Long before I knew myself,

You saw my love was growing.

And though I tried avoiding truth,

I fell in it deep, to a point of no returning.

Not too far before you grabbed hold,

Like a phoenix from the ash.

Your love, not lost; you validated every feeling.

Now I know that time can’t tell

The where or when for Lover’s meeting.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Keesha M.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.