Humans logo

The Power of a Smile

The simple act can brighten our days

By Ben ShelleyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
The Power of a Smile
Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

The world is tough. It was tough pre-pandemic and it is even tougher today, with the pandemic continuing to raise and the war in Ukraine. It is a blank slate of possibility that is surrounded by judgement, ridicule and misunderstanding. It is a challenge at the best of times and a torturous state at the worst of times. It is the only home that we will ever know and despite that, we can be seen to mistreat our surroundings.

Smiles are a way to break through the fear and show others that at least at that moment, we are kind. We are in the same boat and all we wish to convey is positivity. We want to share our thanks for their act. Whether that is being served coffee, a funny joke or merely a hug at the end of the day when we are feeling low.

In the years of living in London, I have read in the news that we are a city of hate. We are miserable and everyone living in the big smoke takes away our humanity to the point where we never say hi to anyone, but that is certainly not the case. I have seen strangers hug those who are upset and pull up those who fall down. London is efficient and if you are from a small village then that could come across as rude, but I do not see that.

London Life

At the present point in time, I live in zone two with my wife. We are stretching our income to do so but we are happy as we are within walking distance of central London, have excellent transport links and have everything that we need. We speak to our neighbours and smile when we purchase something from the shop. We try to create memories that make us smile and whilst we may swipe and go, if we saw anyone who was upset, we would stop to pick them up.

London is efficient but this does not mean that it is rude. For me, the opposite is the case, people care and are here to make the most of their lives. They are conscious of time and do not waste it where it is not required. Once you have stopped to pick someone up or offer a smile, you move on. There are millions of people who live here and to speak with all of them, every day, would be impossible, so we concentrate on what is in front of us, which is the most human consideration there is.

London is the capital of the country and for good reason. What we have here is an efficient economy that evolves around us each and every day of our lives. I mean, all I have to do is take the tube up to Wembley and I will see something different each and every time I arrive. The same could also be said for Stratford. London is evolving around us and we take it in our stride, wondering about all the stories, paying tribute to those we pass with a smile.

A Simple Smile

People can still be angry. As much as I defend London and put forth the best image of it, there are days when I wonder what is wrong with people when I hear shouting walking down the road, or in the corner of the pub as someone begins to vomit. There are days when I question where we live but that is true everywhere. Nowhere in the world is perfect and that is a sentence that can be applied to every part of our lives. I love my wife but I know that she is not perfect and neither am I.

A simple smile is a way to move above the anger and stay true to who we are. I want to ensure that every interaction I have is positive. I want to be the one that brightens up the world around me, rather than shouts along with it as it challenges my faith and a smile is the means by which I choose to do so. I still moan and I completely acknowledge this but as I mentioned earlier, no one is perfect, especially not me.

Smiling regularly reduces stress levels. It releases endorphins, serotonin, and dopamine, which improve the mood and help to release negative emotions. Something that is of great benefit in the world that we live in. A pandemic laced world that is witnessing a war erupt around it in Eastern Europe. For those living in Ukraine, there is little to smile about and my eternal hope is that sense will be brought back to the continent soon enough, as no one wants conflict. We want peace and understanding in order to smile once again.

A Final Thought

Smiles are powerful. They cannot reverse hate or restore the lives that have been lost but they can promote positivity around you, as in all likelihood our actions will never change the world as a whole. To be able to shift the thought of nearly eight billion people is something that very few of us will ever achieve. Most of us are concerned with our worlds, our friends and family, ensuring that they are happy. That is what we can control, how those around us see us and how they see the world.

The hope is that a smile can spread. If I smile at the kind human being who makes my coffee in the morning, then maybe that would offer them a little clarity and help them to smile in return. This would then be spread to the next person as the barrister passes that on as they see another at lunch.

Smiles are infectious and can reduce stress levels. They are so simple in nature. Beyond money and gifts, they are able to take us out of our own heads, giving us some much-needed clarity and space to think. They are heavily used in popular culture as they are synonymous with human beings. We crave attention and we crave the embrace of others as we wish to be loved.

I enjoy making others smile and would prefer to be remembered for that over anything else.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Ben Shelley

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet for the love of content, must continue writing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.