Humans logo

the passing of summer

journal entry september 15th 2021

By Jack SchottPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Im calling this one “the passing of summer” because it’s a little line from a song called CANDY CORN by Ryan Hall. Really good song, I’ll link it at the bottom. And now that September has arrived and the transition from summer to fall is currently in progress, I figured it was fitting.

Anyway,

It’s been a minute…

Just a couple weeks ago, I began my junior year of college. Honestly its been pretty intimidating and it’s taken me a while to feel comfortable and settled in again back here in Nashville. Unlike most years, it’s not my classes or grades that are intimidating. In fact, Ive been learning a lot in class so far and it’s a nice change of pace from my previous 14 years of school. What’s intimidating, however, is everything outside of school: The real world.

I always thought that by your junior year of college, you’re supposed to have your whole life figured out. Like you should have a job with a multi-year contract waiting for you for when you graduate. Like you should know what state you’re gonna live in for the next 5 years after school. And if you don’t have all of this figured out, you should at least know what you WANT to do after school right? Now that the time has come around, I’ve realized that I’m completely wrong about all of those things.

I’m a junior now and I still don’t really know what I’m gonna do with my life after school. It’s scary because there’s so many kids my age who have had a step by step plan to follow to make it to their destination, but for me, I’m kinda lost.

This feeling of not knowing where i’m going has brought me a lot of doubt and anxiety in the past, but recently I’ve had some conversations and have come to some realizations: This time of uncertainty is actually a perfect opportunity for personal growth. It’s time to focus on the things that I CAN control. I cannot control what’s happened in the past, and If I want to have any control of the future I need to take care of the things I can right now. If I can focus on school, my mental and physical health, my faith, and the people who are important to me everything will work itself out and I just need to trust that I’ll be fine the future. There’s no point in getting too caught up in what lies ahead. It’s important to look ahead and be prepared, but if that’s all I’m thinking about then I’ll lose sight of the beauty that’s right in front of me.

So yeah, I’m tryna get better at living in the moment and not getting TOO caught up in what my future holds. That will come when I least expect it I bet. That’s just some stuff that’s been on my mind lately.

Things have been good though for the most part! It’s been good seeing my friends and enjoying the college experience. I feel like my work ethic on school has improved a lot since last year so I’m proud of myself for that. I’ve missed blogging and I’m tryna get back into it because I really enjoy writing. It’s one of the few things I could actually see myself doing one day. I’ve just kinda been making excuses but I’m back now.

Most of my blogs have been about basketball but I’m arguably a bigger football fan than I am a basketball fan. And it’s that time of the year now, so expect to hear back from me soon!

The only negative part about this time of the year is that it is HOT bruh. Being in school in late August/Early September is an interesting time because I typically take 2-4 cold showers a day simply because I am drenched in sweat by the time I walk from my class to my apartment twice a day. It’s a struggle fr.

But that’ll pass…..soon….hopefully….right?

There’s a lot going on in the next couple months so, like I said, expect to hear back from me more from me in the near future. I hope everyone’s doing good with you all.

peacenlove.

https://open.spotify.com/track/1ae3ZlG9sPCHNAnlBBtLU0?si=bUPxltK2R6eLv3FC90ophw&dl_branch=1

here’s that song I was talking about ^

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jack Schott

Pretty much just whatever is on my mind:

lil bit of everything!

peacenlove

https://www.instagram.com/jackschott/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.