Humans logo

The Land that I live in is weird

my opinion on where we stand today

By Alfonso JaimesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Millions of years ago early man lived a life of fear. Fear of not finding shelter, fear of not being clothed, fear of not eating, or fear how to kill the food , fear of dying from insects and animals above and below. Fear ruled their existence. Fast forward to present day. This world we live in is weird, because we still live in fear. The land I live in, the people that inhabit it, the words we use, the opinions we hold are all based in fear.

The United States is my home country. I am a second-generation Mexican American. I see more bad than good, actually I should say I read about more bad than good. If I open my eyes, I see more good than I see bad. I see the good in people quite often, but I’m embarrassed by my country's lineage of hatred, fear, destruction, and intolerance. However, I am hopeful for the future. I see people of color standing tall and equal with all other races. I wish that I did not have to identify any race but that isnt the world that we live in. the world we live in thinks race is a status symbol or a privelege. Now I hope one race does not replace the other in the order of dominance as we struggle to figure this all out. We all deserve to live without fear or judgment, we deserve to live fearless and free. May we all strive for that acceptance, equality, trust, honesty, hope, joy, love, and laughter. All this flowing in between every human being like a river of love that is strong, that is loud, consistent, and all-consuming.

How primitive we are today in our thoughts and our emotions. I see us, acting like an early man looking for food, shelter, water, just trying to survive. It seems like we are all still there existing like they did a million years ago. Only now, we have Nikes on and a cell phone to help us scavenge for the essentials. Our clothes are better, shelter is way better, but we are still scared to go out into the world. we still live in fear of not having our essentials. Sure it looks different now, because the aesthitic has changed. But It is like we have replaced the fear of dying with the fear of living. Early man was fearfull but they did it anyway. We just dont move forward or we havent. I am sad in this realization, but I have hope because I am aware it.

May God help us all be better and even though all of this is drama is present there are additional truths that are present too. The United States is only a few hundred years old compared to the rest of the world. We have done pretty good establishing ourselves as a world power, we continue to fight for what is right. Even though our systems are flawed, there is a lot of growth potential. We are still a destination, a beautiful country where people want to be. We have a lot of opportunity here. There is freedom here, and barbecue! The greatest minds get cultivated here in this country and even though the present is dismal our upside is huge.

Imagine what the US will be like in 100 years. I’m excited that we have the opportunity to fix the social injustices, and the processes that hold our democracy back and provide solutions for healing the world. We are all one, we are a global economy, and we need to act as such. From our youngest citizen to our oldest elder we need to evolve. we need to grow up! this land we are borrowing needs to be honored and respected as well as the plants and animals, including humanity. We are so young, and we have so much to learn as a country. Like I said, this place is weird, we take pictures of ourselves, we eat, we act, we play games, we dance so that we can be considered valuable. The people that are most important like our doctors, elders, healers are all forgotten. The conscious people that are trying to affect change for the better are ridiculed. Our fear is so great, we kill each other and ourselves to stop from feeling it. It’s so archaic don’t you think? So just like early Man we are still so primitive. This land I live in is weird.

humanity

About the Creator

Alfonso Jaimes

Father of two boys, Jett and Cole. I am developing my creativity and love for poetry and story telling. I hope that I bring value to this community, and I am grateful for the opportunity.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alfonso JaimesWritten by Alfonso Jaimes

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.