Humans logo

The Importance of Community

Volume I: The Breakfast Club

By Dana CrandellPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
Top Story - April 2023
52
The Importance of Community
Photo by Mario Purisic on Unsplash

“Lend me your ear” for a moment and let me tell you about the rabbit hole I went down a few days ago.

It started with me asking myself why I came back to Vocal, and why I'm still here. (Red flags just went up. Watch for me to be deleted soon.) Seriously, though, Vocal frustrates me at times, in some ways that have nothing to do with the platform itself, and some that do. I'll leave that there, because it's not what this is about.

Now, assuming that people will have the opportunity to read this, I'll get to the point. Of all the potential answers to the aforementioned questions, the one that made the most sense was pretty simple. I'm here because of the community.

Don't panic. I'm not going to get all “lovey-dovey” and stuff. Yes, the other creators on the platform are the community I'm talking about. On the other hand, that doesn't mean that I relate well to them all. In fact, that's part of the point; community isn't all about hearts and flowers. It's about who we encounter and how we grow from the experience.

So, back to the rabbit hole. While I was pondering the definition and scope of “community” it occurred to me that the person I am has been shaped and molded by the communities I've been exposed to over the course of my life. Furthermore, I can see the influence of community on most of the people I'm close to. So, I came up with this idea...

I started thinking about the first community I knew during my childhood. The rabbit hole took a fork and went ever-so-much deeper. I did a little research on what I remembered about the town, played around a bit on Google Maps© and realized I was going to be there a while. Keep in mind that I lived there in the 1950's and haven't been back since. Nevertheless, I'm anxious to write about it, for several reasons that I won't give away in this story. (Hint: It's infamous for something.)

I've also realized that the case will probably be similar for each of the communities I want to write about, so I'm going to try to create a series on the subject that happens to be the title of this story. I hope it won't be as boring as it sounds.

I discarded the idea of weeding through these communities chronologically. That was more difficult than it sounds, because some of the earliest are also the most interesting. In the end, I decided to start with one I “manage” that's extremely important to me and shares some interesting traits with the Vocal community. I'm going to include it as part of this “introductory” story, so readers can decide whether the series is something they're interested in following.

Without further ado, let me introduce you to [insert herald trumpet fanfare]:

The Breakfast Club

What a catchy and original name, don't you think? I'd apologize, if not for the fact that this is an unofficial moniker for an unofficial, informal group and it simply fits. While we move past that, I'll set the stage.

Four years ago, I was having a cup of coffee with a fellow local photographer to discuss the idea of collaborating on a project. As we were wrapping things up and getting ready to leave, he said, “Hey, would you be interested in meeting a bunch of artists?” I'm reasonably sure my response was something like, “Hell, yes!”

The following Friday morning, my wife, Pam and I met him at a popular local restaurant and over the course of a couple of hours, we met about a dozen local artists as they came in and joined us for breakfast. By the time we left, we were hooked. Friday mornings started with the artists' breakfast and it was the highlight of our week.

As we later discovered, the group was already several years old and had met at different restaurants over the years. The photographer that invited us had been invited fairly recently himself, and no one could remember exactly who had originally started the group.

Pam and I began inviting artists that we knew, and before long, the group had grown to twenty to thirty artists, with our own set of long tables set up and reserved every Friday morning. New friends and acquaintances came and went. We literally switched chairs to join different conversations.

During one conversation, someone mentioned that we should have a Facebook group, and another someone recalled that I used Facebook to promote my business enterprises.

I have a debilitating disease, known as “Volunteer Arm.” When someone needs something, my arm raises itself. I can't stop it. I've considered starting a non-profit organization for sufferers of this condition – and their spouses, in support of Pam. In any case, I had the private Facebook group active about an hour after Pam and I left. For lack of better judgment or something, I named it – you guessed it: The Breakfast Club.

By Kai Pilger on Unsplash

I set two rules for the group and the events: 1) We don't discuss politics. 2) We don't discuss religion. Why? Because those are the most divisive subjects I know and we're a very diverse group.

Four years later, I still manage the group and “head up” the breakfasts. I set an event each week and we've managed to organize a few dinners, as well. The setting has changed a couple more times, for various reasons and due to COVID and a few other things, many of the faces have changed.

There are currently 162 members, most of whom are inactive. Our current turnout for breakfast varies between five and twelve, with the latter being an exception that hasn't happened in a while. Still, the Facebook group gives members a place to keep in touch and post notices about shows, etc. Personally, I wouldn't trade this community for the world, and the breakfasts are still the highlight of the week for those of us that can make it.

Here are my two favorite things about our little community:

It's as inclusive as it gets. Artists of any kind, gallery owners, art lovers and those with questions about art are welcome. We don't care about skin color, race, nationality, gender or lack thereof, or sexual preference.

Tolerance has limits. We understand that causes have a place. If you have your own, especially those based on any of the list of what we don't care about, as well as politics or religion, we support your rights, but humbly ask that you don't push your agenda at our gatherings or in our Facebook group. Mostly, we just don't tolerate assholes.

I deal with the people of this community daily. I have important conversations with them outside of the groups. I hug my gay friends. Nothing's rubbed off so far. My black friends know their lives matter to me, although I don't attend BLM rallies. I talk with my liberal friends about issues, though they know I'm a conservative. We agree on what's most important. I personally gain something of value from every interaction.

Before I “put down my pen” it's important to say that I've helped build this community because of communities I was a part of earlier in life that became a part of me. The series, if it comes to fruition, will be about those communities and the values I learned from them. The next in line will probably be the town I mentioned earlier, simply because I can't wait to tell you about it.

***

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed the journey, please leave a heart and a comment. If you really enjoyed it, tips are always appreciated by us poor souls afflicted with Volunteer Arm syndrome (and our loved ones)!

humanityfriendshipart
52

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    I struggle with the "no religion or politics" rules. We *should* be able to talk about them. I think this social nicety has hobbled us. The necessary muscle has atrophied, and a lot of people are completely lacking in the ability to discuss these things in a sensible, humane way. 🤔 I think another reason I struggle is because everything is political. Art is political. Writing is political. We don't create in a vacuum. Everything we make is tinged with our values and shaped by our experiences. All that said, it's a bloody relief to have a handful of places where it's (generally) not overt most of the time. One of the reasons I hightailed it away from Twitter was because of the tendency for everyone to put bloody flags in their bios. The us/them vibe. I wanted to hop up and down and scream at the Twits, don't wave your label at me! Tell me a damn story! *TALK* to me! That's why I prefer it here.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Now I want to know more about that town. Oh, wait...

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I know read this story before and I'm so sorry that I didn't comment. Your breakfast club sounds like the coolest thing. There is nothing better than community. I also have the disease of the volunteer arm-lol and that would be a hell of a non profit as so much would get done with spouses trying to pull the volunteer arms down - lol. Great story and so glad you came back to Vocal. ❤️

  • Traci Lynn Schalkabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Quite interesting piece, and yes community is important.

  • Junaidabout a year ago

    You are right. Community is very important in our life. Because I realize that sometimes our community helps us to decrease stress and fear in our minds.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story 🎉🎉🎉

  • Lorelai Fayeabout a year ago

    Love this and jumping at the thought of being able to create something like this in my hometown. I was enticed the whole read and I truly loved each word.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Love this!!!💖💖💕

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Nice, well hopefully You keep diving down Your rabbit hole bringing light to Your mind of where find out Your mold based on by the communities that You helped shape, and also help to shape You. I'm glad that You gain value from every interaction. Keep moving forward.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    That Breakfast Club sounds amazing. I'd love to just be a fly on the wall. And I have to agree with how important community and community building is. It's what makes writing platforms like Vocal so valuable. I tried to go it alone in my first year on the platform. But after reaching out to the Vocal Facebook communities I got to meet with so many new writers and learn from their work. I grew as a writer as a result and now, as an Admin of one of those groups, I'm starting to give back and help others grow just like the community did for me 🤗

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    The type of community you describe makes me drool. You are diving into waters that most writers/artists are also engaged in navigating. Not the teeniest bit boring

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Your two group and event rules are great. The first rule of Fight Club is we don't speak about Fight Club!

  • Shari Khanabout a year ago

    💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Dana, you could publish your grocery list and I’d read it. You’re never boring. I’m excited for this series. Community is something I’ve thought a lot about lately. I’m currently without one—unless you count Vocal, but I don’t put much stock in online connections, because they’re just not real. I do find myself holding back a lot here, not wanting to offend anyone with my true opinions, especially about religion and politics! I’ll save it for my book. It’s funny, my first community was a black Baptist church. I spent the majority of my youth there. No one in my immediate family went or made me go. I initially went with my mom’s boyfriend’s mom (lol) when I was 6, and I could not get enough. I no longer identify as Christian, though, so I’ll never have a church again. My second community was through Model Mayhem. Us models, photographers, artists, makeup artists, and people who did it all—I was a “modelographer” posing and photographing other girls and doing our makeup. We would travel to each other, and meet up all over the place. I’ve tried, and I can’t get back into it. I model once in a blue moon for friends. But it used to be my entire life. That chapter is over, and I miss it all the time. I guess my new community will reveal itself. But I’m glad to be here and read your words.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Excellent insights into community and supportive relationships! Congratulations on your top story !

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    How true that artists need community! I'm interested to see where this series goes. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Congrats on your top story!! Volunteer arm syndrome runs in my family 🤣

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    What an interesting thing- examining all of the 'communities' of which we are a part. (also- dude, there is no liniment for volunteer arm that I haven't tried, let me know if you find one that works!)

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    Your “volunteer arm” had me chuckling aloud. Apologies for laughing at an affliction! 🤭🤭🤭 I look forward to reading more, Dana 💕🙂

  • Sounds interesting.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Fascinating - about your group and considering your series - I personally love both ideas! And I love your "volunteers arm" ambition. :)

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Love this, Dana! Love your writing! So happy you’re here and a part of my community! Can’t wait to see what you write next! Also… volunteer arm syndrome! LOL! 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.