Humans logo

The Friday Night Fixer

An Ode to Unsung Heroes

By Jheffz A.Published 6 days ago 3 min read
Like

There he was, perched on the edge of my bed, a worn copy of "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" balanced precariously on his knee. My ten-year-old self, a tangled mess of emotions after a particularly brutal schoolyard incident, sniffled back tears. Mr. Hernandez, my stepfather (although I never called him that), wasn't my biological father. He hadn't even been around for most of my life. But somehow, in the whirlwind that was my childhood after my parents' divorce, he'd become the anchor I desperately needed.

He wasn't your typical "dad." He wasn't built like a bear, didn't have a booming voice, and lacked the inherent authority that came with the title. He was a lanky man with a mane of salt-and-pepper hair, a laugh that crinkled the corners of his eyes, and an endless supply of silly jokes. He was a graphic designer by trade, more comfortable with pixels than playgrounds. Yet, in his own quirky way, he became the father figure I never knew I needed.

"So," he began, his voice surprisingly gentle, "tell me about this Vogon poetry incident. Sounds positively dreadful."

Through hiccups and sniffles, I poured out my tale – the relentless teasing, the hurtful words scrawled across my notebook. He listened patiently, occasionally interjecting with a dry quip that brought a reluctant smile to my face. Then, with a flourish, he flipped open the book.

"According to this," he said, a mischievous glint in his eyes, "the Vogons are a particularly unpleasant bunch known for their terrible bureaucratic skills and even worse poetry. Sounds like the kids who messed with you fall right into that category, wouldn't you say?"

We spent the next hour dissecting the book, imagining what a Vogon poem about my tormentors might sound like. The words flowed, clunky and nonsensical, punctuated by Mr. Hernandez's over-the-top theatrics. By the time we finished, my sobs had subsided, replaced by a shaky smile and a newfound sense of camaraderie. He wasn't there to fix the situation directly; he helped me laugh at it, navigate the emotional storm, and emerge stronger.

That night, as I drifted off to sleep, a sense of calm washed over me. It wasn't just the ridiculousness of the imagined Vogon poem; it was the feeling of being understood, of having someone in my corner who wouldn't judge but would face it all with me, even the seemingly trivial schoolyard drama.

This became the rhythm of our relationship. Mr. Hernandez wasn't one for grand gestures; it was the little things he did that mattered. He taught me the joy of tinkering with old computers, turning them into functional (and sometimes strangely colored) machines. He introduced me to the fantastical world of graphic novels, their vibrant illustrations opening a new dimension for my imagination. He'd patiently decipher the scribbles I called drawings, showering me with genuine praise that fueled my artistic fire. Most importantly, he created a safe space where I could be myself – a space filled with laughter, goofy jokes, and a sense of unwavering support.

The years turned, and life, as it always does, threw its curveballs. Teenage struggles, college applications, first heartbreaks – Mr. Hernandez was there for all of it. He never tried to replace my biological father; instead, he carved his own space in my life, becoming a friend, a confidante, and a silent pillar of strength.

Years later, as I stood on the precipice of adulthood, preparing to embark on my own journey, the weight of his influence hit me with full force. It wasn't just the tech skills or the love for graphic novels; it was the resilience he'd instilled in me, the humor that helped me navigate life's complexities, and the unwavering belief he had in my potential. He wasn't the "dad" who taught me to ride a bike, but he was the one who taught me how to find my own voice, to laugh at myself, and to embrace the adventure life throws our way.

On Father's Day, the world celebrates biological fathers, the men who gave us life. But there are other men, the unsung heroes like Mr. Hernandez, who step up and fill that void, offering love, support, and guidance in their own unique way. They may not be the dads in the traditional sense, but they become the father figures who shape our lives in profound ways. This story is a tribute to them – the Friday night fixers, the goofy mentors, the quiet supporters who deserve a place on the same pedestal as the biological fathers we celebrate.

friendshiplovehumanityfeaturefamilyfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jheffz A.

Jheffz A., an up-and-coming writer, incorporates his life's challenges and entrepreneurial ventures into his stories, focusing on resilience, hope, and self-exploration.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Annalise Zera5 days ago

    great! keep going on

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.