Humans logo

Sleep resolution.

Sweet dreams for the new year.

By Amber Marie CardonaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sleep resolution.
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

Almost every year, I make my New Years resolution to lose weight. And while dropping some pounds and eating better isn’t necessarily a bad thing, focusing so hard on diet and exercise always ended up becoming more of an unhealthy obsession for me. And without making actual lifestyle changes, I could never stick to a certain diet. I put a lot of pressure on myself and my resolutions became too much to keep up with. So, I stopped making them for a while. Until this year. This year, I decided on a resolution to get more rest. A sleep resolution. I decided I wasn’t going to wear myself so thin anymore. I was simply going to rest when I was tired. No more caffeine when I should be napping. No more all nighters. If I needed a break, I was going to take one. I was going to dream more. Set the mood every night before bed. Dim lights, rain sounds, classical music, fan blowing. So relaxing. And maybe after a good night’s sleep, I’d actually feel like working out the next day. Maybe by prioritizing rest, I could start taking my health more seriously too. I’d have more energy to take care of myself. I’d be able to get more done. No more staying up late and scrolling on my phone. No more binge watching on streaming apps when I should be asleep. A sleep resolution. If I stick to this, I imagine I’d end up feeling so much better. Wrapping myself up in my giant pink blanket, all warm and fuzzy. Piling up my pillows. Curling up with a few stuffed animals. Sleep. Beautiful rest. No obsessing over what I eat this new year. No unrealistic expectations. Just a nice, peaceful sleep at night and a relaxing nap or two during the day. No overworking until I’m exhausted. I will rest this year. I’ll curl up with a book and read until I’m snoozing. Peaceful and serene. Nice and quiet. A sleep resolution. Something I think I’ll be able to stick to. Happily. In bed every night by at least 9pm. After a nice, warm bubble bath. I’ll put on my softest pajamas and get in bed. So soft and cozy. And I’ll have the sweetest dreams. Dreams of clouds and teddy bears. Everything soft. Classical music gently playing in my ears as I drift off to dreamland every night. A sleep resolution. Making sure I wake up well rested every single morning. Having enough energy to take on each day. A nice, relaxing New Years resolution. No calorie counting required. I’ll sleep when I’m tired and feel so much better when I wake up. No more fighting sleep to stay up late and do nothing. No more skipping naps when the opportunity presents itself. I’ll take every nap I can and sleep every chance I get. And I’ll still get things done. I won’t push myself too hard anymore. I won’t end up exhausted. I should have made a resolution to get more sleep years ago. But I’m doing it now. The unsuccessful resolutions of the past don’t matter. I’m resting more in 2022. I’m taking advantage of every peaceful moment I get. Taking things slowly, no more rushing. No more sleep deprivation. I’m taking my slumber a lot more seriously now. Simple and relaxing. Wrapping myself up in my dreams and waking up refreshed. A sleep resolution for the new year. Rest more, stress less. I’m looking forward to this. Sleep more, worry less. A very happy, very cozy new year. Yes, a sleep resolution for 2022. Looking forward to all the sleep I’m going to get.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.