Humans logo

“Amazing people can do amazing things.”

A random act of kindness.

By Amber Marie CardonaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
“Amazing people can do amazing things.”
Photo by Christopher Beloch on Unsplash

I ordered a few things from Walgreens a while back and when I received my order, I noticed that a greeting card had been put in the bag with all my stuff. It said “Amazing people can do amazing things.” on the outside and “Keep on being the one and only you.” on the inside. I didn’t order or pay for a card so it shouldn’t have been with my stuff. I came to the assumption that the delivery person had purchased the card with their own money and put it with my order to be nice. And I wondered if this was always something that this person did whenever they were delivering random things to random people, or if they just felt like including a card in my order for no real reason. But it made me smile. I don’t remember what type of mood I was in. Was I feeling low and in need of a pick me up? Was that card exactly what I needed in that moment? I don’t know. But it made me smile. I thought about the delivery person and how sweet such a small gesture from them was and it made me want to make others smile too. If I can get a card for a random person to make them smile or give someone a compliment just when they need to hear it, why wouldn’t I? You never know what type of mood someone is really in and a little kindness from another person could be all they need to feel better or push through. Whether it’s a stranger like me or someone I know and love. Maybe someone I know and am not all that fond of. It wouldn’t hurt me to be kind. And cost of a greeting card aside, it’s normally free to be friendly. Receiving that card that night from that random delivery person was really special to me. I keep it sitting on my dresser next to my mirror now. And I see it everyday. “Amazing people can do amazing things.” I sometimes wish I could thank the person who gave that card to me, but there’s no way to contact a delivery person once the delivery is complete. Corny as it sounds, I still think about them and hope they’re doing well. I hope they’re still giving random cards to random strangers to lift their spirits and make their days. Just thinking about it makes me want to be a better person. Receiving a card from someone who has no idea who I am or what I might be going through, it meant a lot. I wonder if that person thinks of the strangers he or she has given cards to. I like to imagine they do. And I hope that person is living a good life. I’ve always tried to be a good person, to make people happy and spread kindness wherever I go. But that person made me want to be a better person even more than I already did. They made me want to make sure that I always leave people better than how I found them. Whether it’s a simple compliment, a helpful hand or a greeting card from Walgreens. I don’t ever want to be the reason someone is upset or hurting. I want to make sure that crossing paths with me is as pleasant an experience as it can be. I want to be generous and kind. I want to be there for people however possible and make sure that they know that they are amazing people who can do amazing things. No matter how big or small.

humanity

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amber Marie CardonaWritten by Amber Marie Cardona

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.