Humans logo

Pen Pal Chat

from a challenged retiree

By Shirley BelkPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
9
Allow Purpose to Find You

https://vocal.media/writers/write-me-a-letter-challenge

My Dearest and Newest Pen Pal, Heather,

I was so happy to hear from you and I want to learn so much about you. So far, you sound very interesting. And thank you for taking an interest in me, as well. I don't get out much since I've retired. I moved to a "new old place" three years ago. (I'll explain a bit later.) So, having a pen pal is so nice.

You say that you are a little extra. This made me smile. I say that is wonderful! And I see you like to challenge others, as well. (Write Me a Letter Challenge!) I was a nursing instructor, so I can relate. I always looked for opportunities to stretch my students in a clinical setting while they were safely with me at the helm, knowing full well they would be stretched beyond human capabilities on their own, far too soon. Being a caretaker for multiple patients can drain a person physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. It's like being a firefighter, putting one fire out after another for a full eight to twelve hour shift and always going home smelling like smoke. I was there to just bring my students a proverbial glass of water in between fires and a pat on the shoulder, or give them my shoulder to cry on occasionally. I watched them grow in confidence to replace me with the strength they had found in themselves. I sometimes miss those days, but my body began to say no more and it was time to transition to my new quest.

I don't think I had a clear vision of what retirement would actually look like. I had a dream of what I wanted it to be, but in reality, it was far from that zealous anticipation. (whew! I got the "z" in for your extra...lol)

I had lived in this small, sleepy town in north Louisiana before. My family was originally from here. When my cousin died, she left three homes and some acreage to me. The houses had long since seen their glory, though... and are still a work in progress. One house was torn down and that's where I replaced it with a new one and now live. I tried to rent the other two, but soon found out that was far more trouble than it's worth. I am too old and cranky to put up with shenanigans for too long.

The town itself, looks worse for wear, too. The people I once knew from the late 70s and early 80s have either moved off, passed away, or have close-knit friend groups that aren't welcoming. There is a post office, four family owned restaurants, a Burger King, a McDonalds, a Subway, and multiple gas stations, several churches, some antique shops, a small retail store, one overpriced grocery store, and a functional drug store. Of course, there are churches here, too and a parrish hospital. All still a vast change from the hustle and bustle of the Austin, Texas I had said good-bye to.

I think over the last three years, I kind of lost my sense of self and purpose for awhile, but now I have my sea legs, per se, and find joy in many small blessings. I have fur babies, the woods and nature around me, and time to write. I also spend time in prayer for my family. My new purpose found me.

I've enjoyed our chat, Heather. I hope the "uglies" haven't been causing you too much trouble. Sounds like you are finding yourself again, too. I will lift you up in my prayers. Look forward to hearing from you again.

Take Care,

Shirley

advicehumanityhow to
9

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    This was such a pleasure to read :) Thank you for sharing your life with me. I can't imagine that move or retirement. So many transitions for you to navigate. I'm happy that you're not only finding a new normal, but a newfound joy in life. It's not easy to come out the other side sometimes. My mom was a cardiac nurse and then went on to teach in a school for their health program when she retired. I commend all healthcare workers for the mental and physical stress they encounter every day. Such important work! I've enjoyed my time with you, thank you for being a pen pal with me :)

  • Lindsey Altom7 months ago

    Loved the insight to your life! My grandmother is a semi-retired nurse so perhaps that is why I feel you as a kindred spirit. My grandmother is my other half! I love that woman so much! Lol...thanks for the read!

  • Awww, this was such a sweet letter! Well done for the X and Z, lol.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    What a sweet letter! So glad you entered the challenge. It was nice reading some of the things you've done in life.

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Dear Ms. Shirley — Not a ‘Challenge’ Guy — But although Im just a simple man do you have time for (1) more Pen-Pal — ‘j’

  • Nice one♥️💯✌️📝😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.