Humans logo

Party

Meeting Him

By Kelly BrackettPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

“This is so much fun!” I yelled over the music at my best friend who had invited me to this party. “Oliver, why did I not do this sooner?!”

Oliver loved to throw parties, and usually I avoided that scene, especially because of my ex, but this time, I decided to come anyways. As my body moved in time with the music, the cup in my hand moved automatically towards my face. I was having a blast and getting over the pain my ex had caused when I felt eyes on me. There, dancing next to me, was the most attractive man I had ever seen, his dark brown eyes sharp as he checked me out. I smiled and winked at him, before turning my attention back to the dance floor. It was time to let loose and I planned to have some fun.

That was the plan, until my eyes fell on a very familiar figure in the distance. What the hell was he doing here? There, a few steps away from me, was the very man I had hoped to avoid. Right then, I felt a tap on my shoulder and found myself face to face with the attractive man from earlier. Although, when I winked at him, I had not known my ex was here, maybe I could use this to my advantage, I thought, smiling up at him. I leaned closer, as he opened his mouth to speak, so that I could hear him better. I really hope he agrees to help me.

“Hi, I saw you from over there and wanted to talk with you a bit.” He said, a smile making my heart beat hard in my chest. “Mind if I borrow a bit of your time?”

“Not at all, but can I ask a favor?” I replied, grabbing his forearm and jumping slightly at the feel of muscles under my fingertips. “You see, my ex is right over there, and I really don’t want to talk to him right now.”

“I see.” A smirk lifted the corner of his lip before I felt his hand grab my waist and pull me closer. “Come with me then. I wanted to talk anyways and that’s a bit hard to do when you’re dancing.”

A decidedly delicious shiver curled down my spine at the tone of his voice. This man knows exactly what is going on and that makes the situation all the more entertaining for me. Right when my eyes locked with my ex, the man in front of me pulled me over towards the wall, eyes heated as he looked down at me. It had been a long time since a man looked at me like that, and his hand reached up to curl some of my red hair around his finger. His other hand felt hot against my waist and he pushed me gently against the wall with his body.

“To continue our conversation, my name is Felix.” He continued, eyes on my lips as he talked, making me shift slightly. “And it is absolutely a pleasure to meet you.”

“My name is Aurora, and trust me, you’re not the only one pleased by this meeting.” I was feeling brave as I looked up at him. “There must be some way I can thank you for saving me from what would be an awkward and annoying situation.”

“A date with you would be nice.” Felix said, leaning closer, his breath on my ear as he talked. “Though, Aurora, taking you home this evening would be nice too.”

“I think I could handle a date.” I replied, tilting my head as I looked up at him. “I don’t have a tendency to invite strange men over to my place.”

“Ah, but I am no longer strange to you.” He countered, his smirk making me want to giggle. “But a date it is then. Seems your ex is headed this way.”

“Mm, yeah, he is.” My eyes had already picked up on the movement, but I was so focused on Felix that I wanted to ignore it. “What should we do?”

Instead of using words to supply the answer, he pressed his mouth to mine, eyes closed. My own eyes followed suit and I focused on the feel of his lips as they touched mine. It was the first time I had ever kissed someone I was not dating and the delicious shiver it sent through me seemed to have a similar effect on him. I wrapped my arms around his neck, shoving my fingers into his short black hair. Felix really seemed to know what he was doing with those lips of his, I thought, as his hands wrapped fully around my body. And it is almost drugging…

“Aurora?” I wanted to break the interruptions nose but refrained and continued to focus on Felix. “Mother said you were an easy woman; I should have figured as much.”

“Ah, you’re the ex I’ve heard so much about.” Felix stated, pulling his full mouth back with a smirk before his gaze fell on my ex. “I would honor you with my name, but since I feel that would be a waste of time, I’m not going to. How about you just walk away and let me get back to enjoying MY girlfriend?”

Heat pooled in my stomach at his possessive words, and it made me feel good. I enjoyed the attention a bit before turning my glare on my ex, annoyed that the awesome kiss was interrupted. As if hearing my internal monologue, Felix turned his gaze back down to me before leaning down to steal my lips again. The feel of his tongue flicking at my lower lip had my mind going blank and made me forget that my ex was standing right there. As I continued to focus on this new feeling coursing through me, I sucked in a gasp when his lips moved down my cheek to my neck.

“Are you doing this to get back at me?” My ex’s obnoxious voice reached my ears causing Felix to pull back again. “Because there is no way your boyfriend is that amazing.”

“What she does is no longer your business. Should I prove to you right here how well I know her?” He asked, eyes narrowed as he glared at my ex. “Because I can if that’s what you want.”

The truth was, it was too soon for me to see him. As much as he calls me easy, he was the one that cheated on me with my sister. Because of that, not only did I lose my fiancé, I lost my sister as well, because she did not think there was anything wrong with being in love with my future husband. I was angry and hurt and no amount of time was enough to get over the betrayal my sister had done. On top of that, I had trusted him but he found time to make for my sister when he barely made any for me. I hated him with everything I had now.

“Do you want to get out of here, Babe?” Felix asked, his hand gripping my waist. “My parents are waiting to meet you after this, so we could go a little early.”

“Yeah, I don’t want to remain standing in the same room with a cheater.” I replied, looking up at him gratefully. “Stay away from me Matthew. As you can see, I’m quite happy with the decision to leave you.”

“This guy will never be like me!” Matthew returned, his face turning red with his anger. “He will never be as good to you as I was.”

“That’s kind of the point, stupid.” Felix replied, turning our bodies towards the door. “I would not want to be an idiot that doesn’t realize what he has until it’s gone.”

“Thanks for the assist back there, Felix.” I said once we made it outside. “That moron cheated on me with my sister, so I really wanted to get back at him a little bit.”

“Wow, so him calling you easy like that must have hurt.” He countered; his hand still firmly wrapped around my waist. “Well, as payment, I think I’ll take you on that date now. Also, I have to add a charge of unlimited kisses for the evening since I stood up for you. Fair?”

I definitely was not going to turn down more kisses, especially from him. Sure, I was probably a little tipsy from the party and that was why they felt so good, but still. I nodded with a smile up at him, ready to start this new adventure with someone as good looking as him. So far, I was impressed with his ability to think on his feet and the way he had swooped in to defend me like a prince. There was something immensely attractive about the way he had stood up for me, and I could feel myself swooning at his confidence.

“That’s fair.” I replied as he led me out to a car. “So, where are we off to on this date?”

Do you like what you are reading? Please send me a gift below to help me continue making awesome content for you!

Please check out some of my other works as well! Thanks for reading!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Brackett

It has always been my passion to share stories with people. I am building my online presence and opening myself up to other platforms to write for. As an author, I do my best to learn and grow to give my readers the best possible content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.