Humans logo

Another Year Older

Birthday Confessions

By Kelly BrackettPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

I was not the type of person to stand on ceremony. Though I knew this, as I looked at the clock right when midnight hit, I wished that my birthday this year could be special. Unfortunately, I did not have anyone to have those special moments with, so all I could expect was it to be just another day. I frowned slightly as my thoughts darkened from there before turning my gaze back up to my white ceiling. Happy birthday to me. Another year older and a lot more stress. I fell asleep just like that, staring up at the ceiling wishing my life was a little bit better than it was.

Sure, I had a career, many great friends, and an awesome family, but everyone had plans on the day of my birth, so I had no one to spend it with. When I woke up to the chirping of birds, I was not expecting a knock at the door. Groggily, I got up, my oversized tee shirt slipping down my thighs, before walking over to the door. I opened the door to find a stranger standing there holding a package out to me that had been wrapped ever so carefully. I had not been expecting anything in the mail, so what could this be? I tilted my head as I accepted the package and looked at the man in confusion.

Confused, I accepted the package, then closed the door and sat it down on my table. Who was it from? There was no return address or name on it besides my own, which led me to believe that one of my friends was trying to surprise me. Very cautious, I lifted the flaps of the box to find out what was inside. First, I pulled out a coffee mug that was cutely decorated with a scorpion, the zodiac symbol for my birth month. I smiled slightly as I admired the mug, and then I noticed the letter that was underneath it. It had been typed so that I would not recognize the handwriting, I assumed as I stared at it.

“Dear Sophia,

I hope this letter finds you well on your birthday. It took me a while to pick out a gift for you, but when I saw this mug, I knew it was perfect and put a smile on your lips. I thought you would love a reminder of how awesome people born under your sign was.

I need you to do me a favor on this awesome day. Dress in your favorite purple cocktail dress and go downstairs. There is a car waiting for you.

Signed,

T.”

“T? Who is that?” I wondered aloud as I stood and walked over to my closet. “Should I really do this?”

But my hands had already landed on my dress, so I might as well see where this leads. I dressed quickly before putting on some makeup and pulling my brown hair up. I was just curious enough to want to know who had sent me such a thoughtful gift. I could think of a few people I knew whose first or middle name started with a T, but none of them seemed the type to do something this big without letting me know what was going on. They were not any good at keeping a secret. Walking down the steps of my apartment building, I was shocked to find a limousine waiting for me with a chauffer who wore an affable smile.

“Miss Sophia, please.” He questioned, holding out his hand to help me into the seat. “I will let you out at the selected destination.”

“And where is that, Sir?” I returned watching as a smirk lifted the corner of his lips. “Because I only just found out about this.”

He did not answer as he helped me into the car and closed the door, so I was left to wonder just what was going on. I sighed softly before turning my gaze out of the limo window to watch the passing scenery. Pretty soon, I found myself in the middle of the city, looking at a hotel that was known to be pretty high class. It took months to get a reservation in one of the suites at this place. As the limo came to a stop, I watched the chauffer get out and come around to help me out. I felt so confused and out of place as a familiar face appeared in front of me.

“I knew I could count on you to dress the part.” It was my eldest sister, who I was shocked to see. “Surprised?”

“Very! I thought you had to work today?” The question was in my voice as I stared into her brown eyes. “What exactly is going on?”

“You’ll see. Just come with me!” She said, grabbing my arm and pulling me into the hotel lobby. “Trust me, it’s worth the buildup!”

We walked straight past the front desk to one of the grand halls they had. On the door, outside the room, there was a plaque that said ‘Reserved for the Birth of an Amazing Woman’. I was so shocked I stopped to stare at the words there for several seconds. I was only turning thirty today, so there was no need to go this far out just for me! I turned to my sister to tell her to put a stop to this when I saw the expression on her face. It was encouraging me to go through that door and find out what was on the other side. I had never seen her look so gently towards me before.

“Come on.” Isabella continued before smiling in a challenging manner. “Don’t you want to know who T is?”

She got me there. I did want to know who the mysterious T was that sent me that coffee mug. The gift was so thoughtful and kind, as the person seemed to know that I loved novelty coffee cups and drinking coffee in the mornings. Suddenly, the door opened and my parents were standing there with knowing smiles on their faces. They ushered me into the room to a flood of confetti and the smiling faces of not only my family, but all my friends and quite a few of my coworkers. I could not believe the sheer number of people that were there to celebrate my birthday.

“Sophia! Happy Birthday!” As another well-wisher shouted this at me, I felt like crying. “Oh, don’t do that! You look so pretty today.”

Suddenly, I was pushed in front of a very familiar man who was holding a gift in front of him. The smile on his face seemed bizarre considering the situation, but since I was already going with the flow of things today, I smiled back. What else could I do, since this entire thing was in my honor? This man, someone I admired at work and a good friend of mine, was looking directly into my eyes, the smile on his face growing. It became clear to me in that moment that he was T. The one that sent me that gift this morning.

“Trevor…what is the meaning of all of this?” I asked waving around us at the people and the party in the fancy hotel. “I expect this from family but not friends from work.”

“Ah, first, a gift.” He pushed the gift in his hands towards me gently, his eyes lowering somewhat shyly as we stared at each other. “Please accept this one as well.”

I took the package somewhat confused by his actions. He had never acted like this before, so his strange actions felt weird. I looked down at the pretty purple gift in my hands and began to open it. Slowly, a box was revealed causing my eyes to look up at him as he brought his hand up to the back of his neck. He seemed somewhat embarrassed but was still standing tall. I looked back down and pulled the flaps open to find three black heart shaped boxes within. Butterflies filled my stomach as I looked back up at him.

Next to me was a table, clearly placed there for this purpose. I opened the largest of the black boxes first, to find another letter, and beneath it was some chocolates that were my favorite. My eyes flew over the letter as everyone looked on and my breath hitched in my throat. Not only was I getting a birthday party that far surpassed my expectations, it seemed I was getting a confession as well. This just seemed overwhelming and I had to place my hand over my racing heart as I continued to read the letter.

“Dear Sophia,

It’s troubling how hard you push yourself. Take these chocolates and enjoy them when you are feeling low.

I happened to see you with them at work one day, so I know they’re your favorite.

Signed,

T.”

My eyes moved back up to him in shock, but I smiled at him softly. This seemed to relax him some and he nodded to the other smaller heart-shaped boxes. I nodded before picking up the medium sized one. Opening the lid, there sat pictures of us together at the last company meeting. As I looked through each of the pictures, the smile on my face continued to grow. We always enjoyed spending time together, and though I always thought he had only seen me as a friend, I found myself thinking of him quite often. Finally, my hands fell on the smallest of boxes. Inside was one last letter, this time handwritten.

“Dear Sophia,

There are many things I admire about you, from your work-ethic to your go-get-them attitude. I enjoy seeing you smile and laugh, much like you did in those pictures at the company meeting. The more time I spend in your presence, the more I want to spend in your presence.

On top of all the gifts I’ve offered you today, there is one last thing I hope you’ll accept. I’m not normally so sappy but for the birthday of a very Amazing Woman, I want to make you smile. So, Sophia, will you accept my heart as well?

If so, all you need to do is take my hand.

Signed,

Trevor.”

I covered my lips with my hand, unable to get the last sentence out of my mind. When I looked back up to him, his hand was extended to me but there was a slightly nervous look in his eyes. I was in a state of shock and disbelief, but beyond that, I could feel my feet being swept out from under me. What an amazingly romantic and beautiful confession! Pulling the hand that held the letter to my chest, I reached out completely ready to grab on to this new future. This was definitely going down in my books as the best birthday ever!

Today happens to be my birthday, so I wanted to post a birthday special for you! Help me enjoy my special 28th year alive by enjoying this little story!

Do you like what you are reading? Please send me a gift below to help me continue making awesome content for you!

Please check out some of my other works as well! Thanks for reading!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Brackett

It has always been my passion to share stories with people. I am building my online presence and opening myself up to other platforms to write for. As an author, I do my best to learn and grow to give my readers the best possible content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.