Humans logo

My Journey Through the Love Bomb Deception

This is a personal discovery that not all that seems perfect at the start is perfect

By Festus OmakuPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Like
Unrelated video

I like to think of myself as a lover, one of those helpless ones who can’t seem to avoid falling deep when in love. My story however took place in a city filled with bright lights and bustling streets, I embarked on a journey that would forever change the way I looked at love. Little did I know, I was about to become entangled in a web of deception woven by a master manipulator.

I met (for the sake of art, let’s call her) lucy on a sunny afternoon at a local cafe. Her smile was everything and her magnetic personality drew me in like a moth to a flame. I approached her and introduced myself, she was soo welcoming and warm, she smiled at everything and didn’t seem to have any issues bothering her mind, she felt like a free spirit and I was already falling in love. Our whirlwind romance began, and soon we were inseparable. When we were together, the world seemed to fade away, leaving just the two of us. I was very comfortable around her, she knew every single detail about me, I trusted her with secrets to what makes me happy and things that can break my spirit (I never realized I was arming the devil).

Months passed, and I was blissfully ignorant of the hidden truth behind Lucy’s facade. She showered me with affection, constantly praising my every move. I felt like the luckiest man alive, caught in a whirlwind of love and admiration. She was everything thing I was looking for in a partner and I began to ask “where have you been all my life?” (A question I soon found an unpleasant answer to)

However, the love was sweet for a couple of months but some things were just too strange for me at some point in the relationship. As I’m sure everyone knows that there is no relationship without dispute and arguments, mine wasn’t different but mine was a lot different in matter of outcomes and incitement (allow me to explain).

I am someone who would rather say “I am sorry” and have a happy home even when I was not at fault, but this rapidly started to be a norm in the relationship. Lucy who was once charming and sweet became someone who flared up at any little thing, things that would naturally not even mean anything, Lucy became soo bitter and 99.9% of the time, she was the one getting angry over nothing and I would still go back and apologize. Sometimes the apology works and other times she says very hurtful things that makes me wonder if she ever truly loved me. She never took accountability for anything she did or said and I was soo much in love to realize how unhealthy this was.

One fateful day, as I was scrolling through social media, I stumbled upon a video titled, "The Narcissist's Love Bomb." Curiosity piqued, I clicked on it, thinking it might be an interesting psychological concept. Little did I know that my entire world was about to unravel.

As the video played, my heart sank. I listened to the expert talk about how narcissists manipulate their partners, using charm and affection to gain control. The term "narcissist" suddenly had a face, and it was Lucy’s . I watched in disbelief as the expert described behaviors that mirrored every aspect of my relationship. I went on to search for other videos as I was still in a bit of disbelief and all the videos I found explained vividly the situation I was in at the moment.

The love bomb had exploded, leaving me in shock. Suddenly, it all started to make sense, her actions from the moment we started dating up until when she changed. I couldn't believe that the person I loved and trusted was a narcissist.

With newfound knowledge came clarity and pain. I had a choice to make - confront Lucy and break free from the web of manipulation or continue to be ensnared by the love bomb's deceptive allure.

PS: I should better leave this here as a warning to whoever is in a relationship with a narcissist “Never confront them of being a narcissist” you would only open yourself to more and more manipulation. The best way to break free of a narcissist when you have nothing tying you down to the people like children is to go on a total “zero contact”.

In the end, I chose to confront Lucy, determined to free myself from the toxic grip of the narcissist I had unwittingly fallen for. It was a painful journey, filled with tears, arguments, and heartache, but through it, I discovered the strength to rebuild my life and find genuine love that wasn't built on deceit.

"My Journey Through the Love Bomb Deception" is a cautionary tale, a story of self-discovery, and a reminder that sometimes, love's brightest flames can burn the most.

literaturemarriagelovefriendshipdivorcebreakups
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.