Humans logo

My 100th for Tom Bradbury

"I love the voices on Vocal. I also wholeheartedly support the platform for raising a spotlight upon all of these communities. I still however could not find a home for my voice."

By J. S. WadePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
21
Photo by Tom Bradley

My ninety-nine posts on Vocal have left me to ponder what I would publish for the one hundredth. Ninety-nine poems, articles, and short stories, both fiction and non-fiction. A few were silly art poems for fun. The one hundredth had to be unique.

The 99 Bottles of Beer song came to mind, but I've consumed far more than that in the past two years. As I pondered the gospel song The Ninety and Nine, the parable about the one lost sheep crawled into my thoughts and led me to remember our lost brother, creator, and friend, Tom Brad (Tom Bradbury).

Which of you men, if you had one hundred sheep, and lost one of them, wouldn't leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness and go after the one that was lost, until he found it? When he has found it, he carries it on his shoulders, rejoicing.

Vocal has published many memorials and honored Tom as an avid supporter of the creator communities after the tragic fire took his life in September 2021 in his mill in France. Call Me Les led the complex and emotional charge with two collections and published,

The Vocal Creators Chronicle who appreciated Tom's energy, involvement, advocating of Vocal, and constructive criticism, honored him with a special edition article in Journal.

As a novice member, Vocal creator Tom became a mentor to me. He critiqued with total honesty but offered solutions and encouragement. Critiques of my work were a mix of Simon Cowell, my first-grade schoolteacher, and my college track coach. Tom is why I stayed with Vocal after my first daring attempts to enter the creator fray. At best count, it has taken a dozen other friends and creators to offset his loss for the past fifteen months, and to each, I am grateful.

Why the ninety-nine and the lost sheep? What is nagging my mind? Of Tom's fifty-nine publications, my favorite was his second-place finish in the A Day in the Life Challenge, he published in Petlife,

Tom was a shepherd and laid out a day in the life of his farm and mill and the death of his ewe 'Petite Vache.'

"After the vet left, I lifted 'Petite Vache" out to the back field and placed her under a big tree. The entire flock came and one by one said goodbye to their pal. The only way to describe it is a procession. It was truly one of the saddest, most beautiful things I have ever seen in my life. I left her with her family for three hours and then returned to carry her back over the river to be with her son." (Excerpt from What Becomes of the Broken Hearted, Tom Brad.)

The story ends with this poem.

I'm searching though I don't succeed

For someone's love has a growing need

All is lost, there's no place for beginning

All that's left is an unhappy ending

Now what becomes of the broken hearted?

Who had love that's now departed

I know I've got to find some kind of peace of mind.

I'll be searching everywhere.

(Excerpt from What Becomes of the Broken Hearted, Tom Brad.)

I found my lost sheep in his publication, and it haunts me. What still needs to be completed?

Tom advocated for Vocal to create a community for men in a world where the male voice would have a place to express itself.

"I love the voices on Vocal. I also wholeheartedly support the platform for raising a spotlight upon all of these communities. I still however could not find a home for my voice."

(Excerpt from A Cowboy is More Than a Stetson, Tom Brad"

Taylor Sheridan has cashed in on this with the Paramount shows Yellowstone, 1881, and now 1923. Vocal should do so as well. The masculine voice gives context to the multitude and varied voices Vocal has done so well to provide. I agreed with Tom then, and I agree with him now. Men need a voice, and Vocal would benefit from this added balance to the community platforms.

Would Vocal tend to the lost sheep, the Englishman who lived in France, Tom Bradley's voice by establishing a community for Men and allowing his inclusive spirit to perpetuate forever? I humbly request the Stetson community be established. Let us be his voice. Tom spoke for me then and still speaks for me now on the need for this community.

I dedicate my one-hundredth publication to the refined man and English Cowboy Tom Bradbury, my mentor and friend from across the pond.

If you agree and support this request, please share, and comment below to Vocal. I do not seek gain with this publication and authorize Vocal to deduct any count proceeds from my account.

friendshipfeatureadvice
21

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Well Scott, you make it crystal clear how we all lost something special with Tom's tragedy. Like many other newbies here I'm sorry I never got the chance to be schooled by his wisdom. I'm sorry for your personal loss as well! fair winds Tom Bradbury!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    A 100th story to rule them all! What an amazing tribute! Unfortunately, I never knew him, probably due to my long absence from the platform. It was most certainly my loss.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    What an incredible tribute! So moving and such an honoring piece!! Fantastic job, Scott! What a beautiful heart you have! 💫

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Applause!!! You could have written anything for your 100th story, but you chose to do it in style and dedicate it to someone who had an obvious impact on you and others. This says a lot about who you are. (More applause) 💖💖💖

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Beautiful Scott, Tom would ( is) proud of your story and your achievements as a writer. I know I certainly do.

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    This is such a beautiful article Scott and you’ve done yourself proud. Tom would have loved it.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Beautifully written tribute Scott. Thank you for sharing Tom's vision and keeping his memory alive.

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    I loved having Tom on Vocal and would like to see you grant this request. (Tom also began a fiction piece for other writers to tag team on...I always thought that would be a cool tribute.)

  • I didn't get the opportunity to get to know Tom 🥺 This is such a beautiful tribute to him ❤️

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Such a lovely tribute, Scott. I never interacted with him, but I’ve seen his name mentioned and had the pleasure of reading some of the pieces people have shared here and there. That’s the ultimate hallmark for a writer. Create stories to be enjoyed long after you’ve gone.

  • Madoka Moriabout a year ago

    Lovely, heartfelt tribute Scott. Tom sounded like a terrific human being, and I'm sorry I never got the chance to talk with him.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I've seen several wonderful tributes to Tom and only wish that I'd known him. Despite not having that pleasure, I can help try to bring his wishes to fruition. Vocal - please hear this request and implement a Stetson community! Thank you for this wonderful piece that means so much to all :)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Can't hold back the tears. There is a lump in my throat. Cheers and a toast to your fantastic 100th story.💕💖😊 For male voices and to honor Tom, Vocal's inclusiveness requires a STETSON community. Wrote to Vocal support and asked nicely for a STETSON community. Vocal didn't respond. Discord with Vocal's silence!!!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Thank you, Scott. I miss him very much. He was the brother I wish I'd been able to keep in my life.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. Thank you for writing this. I didn't know Tom as well as others did, as I was a newbie then. The few chats I had with him were always honest and encouraging. I wished I had know him better. You piece makes me feel like I did.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    What a sweet, fabulous tribute. Such a nice memory, thank you, Scott

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Thank you for this article. It's so bittersweet. Tom was my first contact on VSS, or one of the platforms. I didn't know who he was then, but he was a force. I often wonder what his feelings might be of Vocal and the groups now. 💕 He was son talented and kind.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.