Humans logo

Love at Second Sight

How I Met My Husband

By Chelsea ChallinorPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
Newly Married and So In Love

Life isn't a fairytale. It's full of challenges, pain and heartache. Yet, there are sweet moments that we experience which give us a glimpse into what a fairytale might be like. Meeting my husband for the second time was one of those moments.

We had only ever met in person once before but neither of us really remembered it. We were both young and looking for love wasn't on our minds at that point. Our mothers, however, had different thoughts. Our moms were roommates back in Bible School. Life can be funny sometimes and, in this case, they both happened to have their oldest children a few months apart after completing Bible School and getting married.

Both sets of parents served overseas as missionaries. My family served in Thailand while his family served in Central America. Though they were miles apart, our moms kept in touch here and there. When my to-be husband was starting off his teaching career, his mother encouraged him to email me. I was going through some challenges with my health and she thought it would be nice for him to be a "friend" to me.

I wasn't so sure about this guy wanting to be friends with me! I already had enough going on in my personal life to think about befriending some guy in the USA (I was in Canada at the time). So I didn't respond to his email for about 3 months!

My mom wasn't super happy about my decision to ignore his email. Unbeknownst to me, she had been writing back and forth with his mom about how great it would be if we got to know each other. So during those 3 months, she would occasionally ask me to consider writing him back. I finally consented to the idea and emailed him back.

I flew out to the USA to meet him for the second time after we had been corresponding for a couple of months (as the first time was a foggy memory). The saying, "Love at first sight" always sounded so cheesy to me. Well, I definitely felt something when I met him at the airport! I won't go into the mushy, gushy details about how handsome he was or how polite he acted. I just knew that this guy was someone special!

I knew by the end of that trip that I was falling in love. However, I didn't know what he was feeling about our friendship. So I returned to Canada both excited and nervous about what our friendship would look like after spending a few days together.

I'm sure it is obvious that this story has a happy ending! Within a year of responding to his first email, we were married (very happily I might add)! Our mothers (and fathers too) were very happy with the arrangement! We, of course, are too!

Because I lived in Canada and he lived in the USA, our relationship was long-distance. He flew out to see me twice and I flew out to see him once more before we "tied the knot". I am so thankful for modern technology and how it enables mankind to connect with one another! We Face-timed often, sent texts every day and wrote the occasional email. Looking back, it was a bit of a whirlwind romance! Yet, every moment was exciting and sweet! I gained not only a husband but also my best friend!

Love stories can be magical and I am so blessed to have one that is filled with fairytale moments! It is funny to think about the fact that we met when we were younger and didn't take much notice of each other. Yet, our moms (and God) had other plans (for which I am so grateful).

So you never know; you might meet someone and not think much about your interaction with him/her. Yet, you might suddenly find yourself falling in love after seeing that same person for the second time!

marriagelovefriendshipdating
1

About the Creator

Chelsea Challinor

Hello!

My name is Chelsea and I have been blessed with a neat life story. I grew up as a missionary kid in Thailand, moved to Canada when entering high school and then married an American man in 2019. I now reside in a small town in Idaho.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.