Humans logo

Lost In The Darkness

The Battle For Sobriety

By Kaylon ForsythPublished 8 days ago 3 min read
Even In The Darkness, There Is Light

When we chose to incarnate in this time period, I fully believe that, we chose to do so, due to the fact that the trials which filled this specific space, have the potential to vastly increase the knowledge, wisdom, and strength of character, as well as resilience, among many other attributes in anyone who is currently living on this planet. We are all going through our own trials, whatever shade they may be, in regards to the depth of difficulty in which at any time, we may find ourselves.

I have had the last, well, little over a year now, to get used to living alone, and in that time, I have gotten used to the fact that no matter what life brings my way, I must face it alone. I dearly miss my beautiful wife, but looking back, now I can clearly see how impactful she was in my life, in preparing me to face this world, without her by my side. I learned a great deal of attributes which helped me in refining my character into one, that exhudes compassion, kindness, and an optimistic sense of clarity and goal orientation. I see others who are going through battles at this time, which they have been facing for some time, which stems from the fact that they have refused to learn the lessons, which certain situations were meant to teach, In my opinion.

I have seen from a personal perspective, the detrimental impact that addiction, in and of itself, has on those who suffer from such a thing. I have full empathy for those who are going through this struggle, and I always want to be clear, this is a struggle that I too have dealt with, and the reality of the situation is that addiction is something that I know I have a higher propensity towards, so I ensure that I take steps, to ensure I do not backslide into a life of misery, grief, and sickness. I see those close to me who are suffering from this ailment, and I feel for them, however, when advice is given, and the advice is backed up with actions, to help them to break the chains, that addiction happens to be, and they intentionally continue down that path, disregarding any and all advice and help that has been given, it causes a sense of sadness to fill me.

I have come to the resolution, and this is something that does truly apply to all of us, we can only do our best to help those who are suffering from addiction, we can give all the advice we have, and committ to the actions necessary to help those who suffer, however, if they are not willing to take steps on their own, towards healing this illness, then at a certain point, as unfortunate as it is, our hands are tied. I have set a rule for myself, and that is this, if people who suffer from addiction, wish only to fall further into the darkness which comes with it, the only thing I can do at that point, is keep my boundaries strong, and stop putting myself in positions, which could potentially threaten my own sobriety. I will never go backwards in regards to addiction, but healing from such a thing, is a life long process, and it is one that I engage in happily. My life has become a dream compared to what it used to be, and that is because I chose to take the path of sobriety.

The old saying holds much truth, in that we can lead a horse to water, but we can't make it drink.

Brightest Blessings.

advice

About the Creator

Kaylon Forsyth

I lost my wife back in 2019 and I started this as an outlet for my emotional expression in regards to the pain from the loss, it has helped me substantially since that time, and I have put great effort into all of my efforts since then.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Crystal Cane6 days ago

    This was such an impactful piece of work. I can say that I relate to about 95% of everything you said! I too have faced addictions and watched others around me suffer as well. With all the encouragement and motivation given, people will only do what they truly have the will and want to do! Thank you for this, Kaylon Blessings to you

  • This is fascinating! A lot of good research and yes you can’t force anyone to break habits 😊

Kaylon ForsythWritten by Kaylon Forsyth

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.