Humans logo

Lessons Learned and Hindsight Wisdom

Dear past me

By Sabrina Published about a year ago 3 min read
Lessons Learned and Hindsight Wisdom
Photo by Paula Corberan on Unsplash

We haven't spoken in a long, and a lot has happened since then. I feel a mixture of appreciation, remorse, and nostalgia as I recall our earlier years. There are a lot of things I want to tell you and a lot of lessons I want to teach you. Yet, I am aware that, even if I could, you wouldn't really comprehend them until you have gone through them.

I want you to know that you are enough first and foremost. You may not be aware of it yet, but you are capable, powerful, and deserving of respect and affection. You don't have to strive to impress anyone or conform to their expectations. Even though your passions don't always make sense to other people, stay true to yourself and pursue them. Don't let anxiety or self-doubt prevent you from achieving your goals.

I can see from our past that there were times when we had to endure anguish and heartache. But I want to point out that those encounters shaped who we are now. They have helped us develop our resiliency, sensitivity, and compassion. Don't think about the past or harbor resentments. Let rid of the bad feelings that are dragging you down and forgive those who have hurt you.

I want you to know that life is a journey, not a destination. Don't be so focused on the end goal that you forget to enjoy the ride. Take time to appreciate the little moments of joy and beauty that surround you. Live in the present moment and be grateful for all that you have. I believe in you, past me, and I can't wait to see where this journey takes us.

I also want to warn you that life is not always fair or easy. You will face challenges and setbacks that will test your resilience and character. But know that every obstacle is an opportunity to grow and learn. Don't give up when things get tough. Keep pushing forward and trust that you will come out stronger on the other side.

One of the most important lessons I've learned is the value of relationships. Don't take your family and friends for granted. They will be your support system through the ups and downs of life. Make time for them, cherish them, and don't be afraid to ask for help when you need it. And when it comes to romantic relationships, don't settle for less than you deserve. You deserve to be with someone who respects and loves you for who you are.

As you navigate your way through life, remember to take care of yourself. Your physical and mental health is paramount. Make time for exercise, healthy eating, and self-care practices like meditation or journaling. Don't neglect your mental health or ignore signs of burnout. It's okay to take a break and prioritize your well-being.

Lastly, I want to tell you to embrace change. Life is constantly changing, and sometimes it can be scary and overwhelming. But change is also an opportunity for growth and new experiences. Don't be afraid to step outside of your comfort zone and try new things. Travel to new places, meet new people, and take risks. You never know where life may take you, but trust that every experience will shape you into the person you are meant to be.

As I conclude this letter, I want you to know that I am proud of you. Despite your flaws and mistakes, you have always tried your best and never given up on your dreams. I hope that you continue to grow and thrive in the years to come. Remember, you are enough.

With love and gratitude,

Your future self

lovefriendshipfamilyadvice

About the Creator

Sabrina

I have always been drawn to the power of words captivated by the stories that unfolded on the pages of books. I have a passion for writing since childhood. And i love cats.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Beautiful, nice 👍 I hearted and subscribe ♥️

Sabrina Written by Sabrina

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.