Humans logo

How to say no to unimportant things in life

Personal experiment

By Patrick Published 4 months ago 5 min read
2
How to say no to unimportant things in life
Photo by Suzi Kim on Unsplash

There is one simple word that we all struggle to say and that is no. Two letters,one simple word but saying no can be the most hardest thing in life to do. Why we struggle to say no is because we have gotten used to say yes to many unimportant things in life. When saying yes to unimportant things in life what happens to us, we miss the chance and we miss the time to say yes to the important things in life and to the things that really matters to us.

That is why we need to learn how to say no to unimportant things. How to say yes and how to be more focused on saying yes to important things. When you focus more you then achieve but turns out doing more will not help us to be more productive.

What really matters in life that why we have to master to say no to certain things in life and really be focused on what matters to us. The fear of the only one to say no sometimes it’s the fear of making a wrong decision so that is why we say yes to unimportant things.

Life is build in good and strong spiritual base on your life so it’s very difficult to say no to those things because we fancy in doing all those things that we need self- discipline to be disciplined

>BUILD SELF AWARENESS

* First step to say no to unimportant things.

*A good understand what really matters to you and why you say yes to certain things.

*Learn to say no to unimportant things and say yes to important things.

>CULTIVATE SELF- DISCIPLINE

*Be a good self determination to yourself.

*Focus on the mindset and train the brain.

*Know your rights and wrongs

That’s the most Neal thing to say ever. “So, it’s a little like fighting a hydra. I am hoping that if I am ruthlessly efficient, I can one day get to the point where the list actually gets shorter instead of longer. In the meantime, unfortunately, the ruthlessly efficient part of this plan means that I am turning down things like this just as a blanket policy. Again, thanks for thinking of me, and good luck with the project! Neal.”

All right. There are a few commonalities that I want to highlight here and that I’ve certainly translated into my own language in a lot of the declines that I send out. And I have to, and you have to, for that matter, if you’ve had any modicum of success, even a toe hold in something that might be a success. Your default answer to almost everything should be no. And this is a pattern that comes up over and over and over again in Tribe of Mentors, both in this podcast and also in the book itself when I ask people how do you say no. What are the tips, tactics, and strategies and so on? There are a few commonalities.

No. 1 is explaining the predicament that you are in. And you don’t have to go long with it. But simply saying my own to do list, in this case, is spawning more and more items and getting longer instead of shorter. And there you have it.

You can keep it short and to the point. But, in a sense, you’re explaining the context. And then, the second word that I’d like to highlight in Neal’s is policy. So, it’s not personal. It’s not that I’m saying no to your idea. It’s not that I think you’re a terrible person. But, in fact, I am as I’ve been turned down before by, in one case, a billionaire investor who I actually met before, he said, “I would love to meet, but, unfortunately, I am following a no meeting policy for the next quarter. I’m not meeting with anyone as a policy.” So, it makes it a blanket response. And I know that I, along with many others, are getting rejected.

Another way I’ve heard this phrased is I’m going on an across the board, for instance, no coffee diet, or no conference call diet, for the next month, for the next quarter, for the next year or whatever it might be. That is a rejection format that I received when I invited someone to speak at a conference, for instance.

I’m going on a no conference diet for the next year because, last year, I realized that I had over committed to so much. And by over calendaring, ultimately, the things that most excited me had no room to fit into my life, etc. So, those are a few examples of how to say no in such a way that is perfectly clear. You’re not saying ping me in three months, and we’ll see what happens. It’s very clear that the answer is no. But, hopefully, if it’s still [inaudible] that people will respect you more. They might not like it. They might be upset. But they will respect you. And then, over time, typically, the wounds heal, if there are any, and they realize that you did exactly the right thing.

And then, they may even borrow the language that you send them. And I should highlight also, this isn’t a panacea, it’s just a better tool. At the end of the day, you cannot control how people respond to the decisions you make.

humanityhow toadvice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Awesome story!!! Loved it!!!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.