Humans logo

Equality (part 2)

Equality between genders

By Robert KegelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Equality (part 2)
Photo by Samantha Sophia on Unsplash

Disclaimer: These are my thoughts and only my thoughts. I’m writing this to get people thinking and talking.

In the first part of this article, I talked about racial equality and this one I’ll talk about gender equality.

We not only have racial inequality in our world but also gender inequality. If you’re not a male (white male) you probably get treated differently, and get paid less. Why? I can only think because some people in government, your boss, some of your co-workers don’t see you as an equal. Again why? I don’t know, they’re small minded? Like in my last article, how do we stop this? and also like in my last article I don’t have a good answer. Sure, government can pass laws, but that’s not going to change people's hearts and minds, just mask their prejudice. Maybe that’s good enough for now? Make people be treated equally and hopefully the hearts and minds will follow later?

This is not only inequality between men and women, but between transgender, genderfluid, gender non-binary, gay and many more people who deserve to be treated equally. Some countries are more open and some are even worse off than the America, but we still have a major issue. We should respect and love everyone no matter what gender they classify themselves as. It’s respect and seeing a person as a person and loving them for them.

I’m a straight male and if someone questioned why I’m a straight male and told me I should be something other I’d be pissed, this is me. Everyone should have that same respect, to be the gender they feel they are.

When I was younger, I knew of straight and gay. I only heard of transgender and asexual people, but I never knew anyone who was. Things have changed a lot and that’s not a bad thing because we don’t know what people my age were thinking when they were younger. I don’t think these other gender classifications just came up overnight. When I was young some people my age must have felt trapped because they had to say they were a man or woman, boy or girl but now we’re lucky we live in a time that people can be what gender they really are. People need to feel comfortable in their own skin and we should love them for it.

Anyone no matter how they classify themselves should be able to get married or be in the military, play sports...etc. I watch American Ninja Warrior. There used to be just male Ninja Warrior and they made a female version, but they brought them together. Now the men compete with the women and it’s great, women give the men strong competition and they respect one another and help each other, train together and make each other better. Why can’t we take this into all facets of life? When they first allowed women to compete with men, the women didn’t do so well. Then in time they stared doing better, going farther, every year the women do better because they train and want to compete and they are.

Would this work with every sport? I’m not sure and this may be another article somewhere down the line, I have to look into it. The little I did though there were some articles that were pro and some con for women competing against men in pro sports. Mostly they the sports that were pro were skill sports and the cons were for strength sports.

This article is about equality overall between genders and in 2021 it’s hard to believe everyone isn’t seen as equal to each other. Hopefully in time this gap will close.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Robert Kegel

I'm a rocker, a gamer, a romantic, a Dom, a hiker and l like camping. I'm a geek, who loves Sci-Fi/Fantasy, and technology. I'll try and write about a variety of topics ranging from relationship, tech and every day rants.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.