Poets logo

I'm Fire!

Breathing Fire

By Cynthia FieldsPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
20

It’s not about bad hair but bad air. I breathe fire you breathe rain.

Dousing water on my dreams sending my hopes into steam!

What was white hot like hope now lies in a puddle at my feet.

You stand at the mirror reflecting on your deeds.

You’ve done good, got away with murder, so you think.

But little did you know my thoughts were of you!

I included you in my plans.

Happy not nappy, you pressed your hair,

I dared to dream.

I dreamed a world where I mattered, we all mattered,

where bad deeds weren’t justified at the mirror.

I breathe fire let’s breathe fire together.

Let’s flow like lava igniting everything we touch,

creating islands resting in the new thing we created.

It's not the hair it’s the dare! Dare to dream, dare to be different!

Dare to be fire-breathing. Breathing life, fearlessly fabulous,

Intentional in our intent.

Fire-breathing, no rain, no tears no dousing flames of hope,

Straining to see through steam distorting the scene.

Now standing before the mirror boldly!

Declaring my wrongs, my rights to hope and breathe,

Because I am fire, white hot liquid fire...

...watch me flow!

Photo credit: Boris Rager for Pixabay

slam poetryProseperformance poetryMental HealthinspirationalFree Verseart
20

About the Creator

Cynthia Fields

I adore words and I love what happens when we grab them, sleep with them, holler and scream and laugh at them! I love what happens when we throw them in the air and watch them fall magically from our minds onto paper!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 10 days ago

    Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Belle11 days ago

    Beautiful poetry. The imagery is astounding! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    Love this, flows beautifully, and the image is great as well 😁

  • The Dani Writer11 days ago

    Great elements to use for a poem and I think your bio rocks! Kudos on the top story!

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    I love the use of steam here.

  • Suzii~11 days ago

    Fantastic poem. Flows really well and easy to read. Keep it up~ :)

  • BrettNotGreg11 days ago

    I read every word of this with the intensity that you so wonderfully captured. Congrats on the top story!

  • Gabriel Huizenga11 days ago

    This is fantastic!! Love the passion and wordplay, an all-around excellent Top Story :)

  • Nora Davis11 days ago

    I really like the energy of the words in your poem. Congratulations!

  • Margaret Brennan11 days ago

    congratulations on TS. This is GREAT. not a fire that can easily be extinguished but something moving that difficult to stop. LOVE it.

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    "Let’s flow like lava igniting everything we touch" very powerful poem, Cynthia. Nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.