Humans logo

Don’t be scared of your 30s

They aren't as scary as everyone believes them to be.

By Kimmiekins4Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Don’t be scared of your 30s
Photo by Casey Murphy on Unsplash

"Thirty, flirty and thriving."

The movie "13 going on 30" came out in 2004, I was 17 years old. At the time I thought 30 was so far away, but looking back time really flew by. I figured I would be a dinosaur by the time I reached that age. Society has a way of making you believe that by the time you hit 30 your life is basically over if you don't have it all together. In this day and age that just isn't true.

The idea of getting older is always scary, I won't deny that. Life can feel uncertain, but no matter how old you are it will feel this way. I am now 34 and look back at my life and wonder why I was so scared of my 30s. While technology and the comeback of everything popular in your teens can make you feel old, I am beginning to realize that at for me, life really began in my 30s.

"Choose to do more than just exist, choose to live."

I have been spending my 30s fixing so much that I broke in my 20s. Even though you're considered an adult at 18 I wish that there wasn't so much pressure to grow up. Just because you're considered an adult due to your age doesn't always mean you're ready. I was very broken in my 20s, I had no self confidence, I held onto so many situations because I thought I was supposed too. I dreamed big, but because everyone told me that I wouldn't make it, or it was unrealistic I just needed to settle and be safe. This is exactly what I did, and I will say I am grateful for my job. However I wish I would have taken risks in my 20s, because I now wonder where I might be if I had.

Now I realize that no matter what age you are, you can still start over. Will it be harder? Probably, but this is the path you're meant to take. I hate that society puts us on a timeline that is unrealistic. Not only is it unrealistic but I feel like people make life choices because of the pressure society puts on them. I feel there should be more of an acceptance to fall in love when you're older, have kids or adopt at any stage in your life, or be supportive of someone that doesn't want children. Everyone's life will look different, but that is okay.

"Say yes to now adventures."

A lot of how I feel could have to do with the fact that I lost friends at a young age. For me everything came out of the blue, and they were very young. Now I am looking back realizing that every person I lost would be in their 30s, and would be so grateful to see the day they turned 30. That being said they did live their life to the fullest, and at the end of the day the is truly what matters. I am guilty of not living my life to the fullest, and I am doing my best to do just that.

No matter what age you are reading this, just know your life is going to work out. Your life has meaning not matter what it looks like compared to your friends and family. The best advice that I can give anyone is believe in yourself. You know yourself better than anyone, and at the end of they day all you have is you. I encourage to make smart choices, but I also encourage to take a chance.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.