Humans logo

Dating Myself : Day One

A self date that didn't go to plan, but still served a purpose of it's own

By Ivy JanePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

9am

Good morning readers! Or should I more accurately say, good morning internet void that this post will most likely disappear into! Today is officially day one of my dating myself experiment. To be honest, I felt a bit silly last night planning a month of lonesome dates, but I woke up this morning excited to get started! However, that excitement was soon squashed by the unwelcome bank notification that my account has been overdrawn. Oh joy. So I guess I will be starting out the month with a budget-friendly date while I try to get my finances sorted.

Life in your twenties is hard…

So here’s what’s on the agenda: After I finish up my actual work responsibilities and finally tackle the mountain of laundry that’s been staring judgmentally at me, I will spend the afternoon taking myself for a walk in the park and stop at the library to work on my novel for a few hours. Later, I will treat myself to a luxurious bath- filled to the brim with bubbles, of course- and then scurry off to my friend’s house for a girl’s night in. Sounds pretty lovely to me!

I’ll be back in the evening to check in and share all the details from day one! See you in a bit

x.

10am

Well, my lovely stroll plan has gone out the window. It’s been an hour since I wrote the entry above, and the weather gods have since decided that rain was in order. I suppose I’ll have to settle for a library date and go for a walk another time. C'est la vie.

2pm

The rain has come and officially washed away my schedule for the day. Instead of taking myself out, I stayed in. I relaxed, I drank coffee and wrote for hours and felt completely at ease. I had the house to myself today, and it felt nice to be alone. If I had been feeling just a tad bit pessimistic, I may have convinced myself that I should start over tomorrow; that today’s date was rained out and therefore pointless. Instead, I made the best of it. Besides, dates aren’t really about what you do- they’re about how you feel. The butterflies you get, the rush of excitement, the ease of knowing there’s nowhere else you’d rather be.

I’ve always felt a deep connection with the rain, as horribly cheesy as that sounds. I think I was perhaps supposed to live somewhere cold, dark, and perpetually damp. Seattle, maybe? So today, I am choosing to take this weather as a sign. The universe is looking out for me, reminding me to remember who I am. The rain is washing away my previously insecure attitude so that it can be replaced by confidence and self-love. Who cares if today didn’t go to plan- I’ve always enjoyed spontaneous dates anyhow!

10pm

So today went rogue. In fact, it went so horribly against the plan I had made that I actually feel embarrassed to share the truth. I didn’t go for my walk, I didn’t visit the library or take a bath, and my girl’s night plans were canceled. Here’s what happened instead: I stayed home, wrote for a bit, did some laundry (thank goodness), and read for longer than I intended. In the late afternoon, my boyfriend came home- earlier than I expected- and I was swiftly pressured to cancel my existing plans. A stronger woman may have put up a fight, defended her independence and put her foot down, but I won’t lie to you reader- I am not that woman. My strength is a weakness. In fact, I don’t have much of it at all.

We went out to grab drinks, at my request as I was still dying to get out of the house. We spent the evening in near silence. For a while, we talked of my interests and dreams, and for a moment I actually felt happy. Unsurprisingly, that feeling was fleeting. Quickly we were back to our usually scheduled programming: indifference with a side of judgment. The bar turned lively, filled with young people about my age dancing to songs from the early 2000s that I loved in middle school. My older partner wanted to leave and made no effort to conceal it.

So where does all of this bring me? I guess it served as a reminder of why I’m doing this. It reminded me that I need to find a way to assert myself; to hold my own against someone who has become skilled in making me bend to their whim. I’ll try again tomorrow- hopefully redoing today’s original plan.

For now, I’ll end with this: If you feel more lonely when your partner comes home than you do when you’re alone, it may be time to move on.

X.

friendshiplovehumorfact or fictiondatingbreakupsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Jane

a girl that loves to write in her spare time

Dating Myself : 2/30 days complete

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.