Humans logo

Be My Date Tonight

Featuring Bright Cellars

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago 6 min read
8

"Missy we need more Merlot!" Jessica said to me pouring the last of the red wine into her glass.

"Oh, I have something perfect for us" I replied walking towards the kitchen, "I took this quiz on Bright Cellars website, and it picked out a wine that matched my answers. So, I bought it!"

I grabbed a bottle of Latin Root out of my wine cellar that was custom-built into my kitchen island and walked back into the living room. Jessica and I were playing a drinking game this evening on a dating app called Tinder. Tonight, we are playing the Flexing game. If a guy is flexing in his profile picture, we swipe right and take a sip of wine. If he's not flexing, we swipe left. This game can get pretty dangerous, and we already had a bottle of Merlot.

"Let me know what you think?" I told Jessica while pouring some Latin Root wine into her glass.

Just then we heard a sound come from my phone. Jessica was smiling ear to ear as she handed me my phone. I always admired her smile, she had the perfect teeth. I grabbed my phone to see the new personal message I received from Tinder.

"Hey, I'm David. We both swiped right. How are you tonight?" The message read.

"It is from David." I said to Jessica with a smirk smile, "The guy that double flexed."

We both started to laugh.

"Well, answer him!" Jessica shouted. I think she's had a little too much wine.

I wrote Back: "Hi, just having some bubbly with my best friend, you?"

"Well, I was working on my essay for my university English class, but then I was interrupted by a match message from Tinder," David replied.

Jessica and I laughed the rest of the night messaging back and forth with David. The conversation eventually ended with a date for tomorrow night. I was a little nervous about this date because it is Jessica that normally does the online dating scene, not me. We did have a safety protocol in place just in case. Also, I was meeting him at the movie theater. This way I had my car for a quick exit. After going through the date plan, Jessica and I crawled into our sleeping bags for a night's rest. We both enjoyed that second bottle of wine a little too much.

**

The next morning, we didn't wake up until after lunch. We popped a Tylenol and drank a jug of water. Then we did what everyone does after a night of drinking, we hit up a fast-food drive-through. This time it was my choice.

"So, are you still going to meet David tonight?" Jessica asked me while taking a bite of her burger.

"Yes, he did seem like a good guy. Plus, he is a university student. How crazy could he be?"

Jessica just stared at me with her mouth full. She was giving me that, are you serious, look.

After Burgers, we went shopping. Jessica insisted I need a new outfit for tonight. I told her it is dark in a theater but is there ever a bad excuse to not go shopping? I don't think so! So, shopping we did, and for hours. It was already time to have supper and to get ready for my date before we knew it. We were successful in finding a new outfit for me. Brand new ripped jeans, and a long white tank top with purple mesh draping over the front. Jessica insisted that she braided my light brown hair. I just think that was another excuse to drink some more wine from Bright Cellars before I left.

At the theater, David and I met up at the ticket booth. David looked just like his profile picture. Short, with a shaved head. He did have some face stubble, but I liked facial hair. Of course, he was showing off those muscular arms by wearing a white man tank. Oddly I was ok with that. David smiled as I approached him.

"You look great," David spoke.

"Thank you. You do too," I replied.

David already bought the tickets ahead of time. He handed me mine as we headed to theater four to see the latest Marvel movie. We did some chit-chat before the lights were dimmed, and the theater screen came to life. Halfway through the movie, David did "the move". He pretended to stretch his arms as he let one arm drop down over my shoulder. I giggled to myself.

"Want to come over for a beer?" David asked.

The movie was over, and we were standing in the theater lobby.

"Before I answer that, I need to use the washroom. Be right back."

I dashed into the woman's bathroom and dialed Jessica's number.

"Hi." Jessica said answering her phone, "How is it going? Do you need an excuse?"

"No, he wants me to come over for a beer!" I exclaimed.

"If he doesn't seem like a psychopath then go." Was Jessica's reply.

I stood in the bathroom, staring at myself in the mirror. You're taught about stranger danger as a child, but he did seem harmless. So, I headed back to the lobby.

"I'd love a beer," I answered David.

"Great!"

David told me his address, and we headed to our cars. I was just going to follow him, but having the address could come in handy in case we get separated on the road.

Once we got to his place, David opened his front door. It was a nice townhouse near the university.

"Here you go," David said while handing me a beer.

"Thanks. Nice place you have."

I excepted the beer and sat on his black leather couch in the living room. We did the small talk thing for a while, and things seemed to be going great. That was until David left, and came back with some small toys. As he placed them on the glass table that was in front of the couch. I then realized they were 80's McDonald toys. There were the Flintstones, Jetsons, and all the McDonald's characters including Ronald McDonald himself. Feeling a bit awkward David started to place the toys in a sequence.

"Hi, I'm Ronald McDonald," David said in his best Ronald McDonald voice, "and this is my show."

David started to put on a show for me using all of his toys. I had no idea what to think. So, I made an excuse that I needed to use the washroom. Staring at myself in the mirror for a couple of moments I planned my escape. Giving myself a nod of approval, I went back into the living room.

"I'm sorry David, that beer is just not sitting right." I lied, "Think it's time for me to go." I had my hand on my tummy to make it a little more believable.

"Ok," David replied standing up.

He followed me to the front door and leaned in for a kiss. I dodged his kiss and leaned forward to hug him instead.

"Call me!" David called out while I was walking towards my car.

Trust me when I say, I never called David again!

When I arrived home, Jessica met me back at my apartment. We opened up another bottle of Latin Root from Bright Cellars and talked all night long. Drinking wine with Jessica was always the perfect date night!

THE END

***If you enjoyed, please like and share***

dating
8

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.