Humans logo

My fairytale in a pandemic

Once Upon a Time...

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago 4 min read
10

For the past year, we have all been through emotional times since the announcement of a global pandemic at the beginning of 2020. We have been through budgeting troubles, loss of jobs, and businesses being shut down. There has been sickness and death. Restrictions and shutdowns. The list goes on. We are all living on the same earth, but not living in the same story.

My story is a positive one. A story for “The Books” some may say. 2020 didn’t have a great start, but it sure had a great ending.

Now, what’s that phrase you use? Oh yes.

Once upon a time there lived a single, struggling mom with her very special, autistic daughter.........

New Year's Eve 2019 was a fantastic night. I partied with my best gal pal's all evening. Little did we know what was going to happen in three months.

Being single I had been going on a few dates, I just wasn't ready for anything serious. My youngest daughter is autistic with ADHD, speech delays, and developmental delays. Finding a man that will accept the responsibility of helping me co-parent such a child was not easy. Men have tried, and I always respected that. I was drained from raising my daughter on my own. (She is currently 11) Our resources in my province are amazing, and they did the best to help with respite options, but I needed more. I needed her father to step up! I did something a little drastic, but it paid off. So, on my very first week of my daughter being with her dad, I wanted to contact one of the guys I went on a couple of dates with. Just one came to mind. My soul was calm when he was around, and I was able to laugh again. Which intrigued me, I had to find out why. At this point in the year the Coronavirus has been mentioned but nothing serious yet. Some stores have reduced their hours, but everything was still open. So, going for a coffee date was just fine, and it was a great coffee date. It turned into a few more dates.

Then over one announcement by the provincial government, our love bubble got popped. Only members of your household could be in your home. No visitors allowed. That also meant my help in the home couple nights a week could no longer come in to help me with my daughter. So, I ended up doing the second drastic thing of the year and asked him to come to stay with me. After agreeing, we turned my spare room into a room for his children on the weekends he had them. I still only had my daughter on alternate weeks. So, that left a week that it was only him and I. All entertainment, including restaurants, were shut down. There was nothing to do but enjoy each other's company, but we got to know each other on a whole other level than you normally would when you first get together. The world got smaller, but our hearts grew bigger. I was thanking the universe for bringing me to him before the pandemic. He became my prince on so many levels. We became a family in an umcommenly way. Because of the pandemic, our love blossomed in unusual circumstances.

Fast-forwarding a couple of months, restrictions were partially lifted and we could start to meet some of each other's friends and family. After some thought, we also decided to start to look for a place to rent together. Who knows how long this pandemic is going to be here, so let's get under one roof before the province has to shut down again. Why pay for two places!

The universe came through again, and we were approved for the best house we could ask for. It fit our combined family in more ways than one, and it's a good thing because restrictions of “no visitors” came again. Through it all, we both just knew that we wanted to spend all pandemics together. (Not that we want more) But if we can grow through this, then we can continue to grow through anything. After Hanukkah/Christmas, he put a ring on it. Of course, I said, "YES!" We got to celebrate our engagment with couple of friends, in a resturant only situation on New Year's Eve 2020!

We were so fortunate that the virus never hit our home or our family's home. I am not trying to brag, I am just blessed that we got through the tough parts. My heart aches for the family’s that were not so blessed. I truly send my condolences and virtual hugs. If you currently have the virus, please get better soon! We don't know what the future holds. We can only pray for the best, and I wish all of you the best.

to be continued ......

love
10

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.