Humans logo

Autism Awareness

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
13
Autism Awareness
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Autism: what is it? Why should you care? Well, I’ll try my best to explain.

Something I’ve noticed about people who don’t have autism, a lot of them have opinions on autism that are untrue or exaggerated, or don’t know what it is all together. And this includes a lot of people who claim to be “autistic professionals” or people who “studied autism.” So for autism awareness month, I’ve decided to attempt to explain autism from the perspective of somebody who actually has autism. Me. And no, I’m not Temple G! (Her diagnosis was Aspergers but that’s now part of ‘Autism spectrum disorder or ASD, fyi! Like Temple, however, we both had the same original diagnoses before we were lumped into one category.)

Everyone should care about autism because most of us know or have encountered at least one person with autism in there lives. And since we should all try our best to understand each others differences and value them, you should too! You should treat us how you want to be treated.

So, the first thing I’d like to go over is stupid things people say to me that absolutely drive me insane. And I don’t use the word ‘stupid’ lightly, because like most people with autism, I got made fun of in school and one of the many lovely things the kids liked to call me was ‘stupid’ because I was ‘different.’

First, sometimes people hassle me about why I ‘can’t do a certain task faster or correctly,’ because even though I always ALWAYS learn how to do the task, sometimes it takes a little longer. I learn through repetition, doing something over and over until I get it right, but once I learn I excel at the task. So I explain “I have autism, so I just need to be shown how to do the task a few extra times,” and I can’t tell you how many people have said to me, “Really? You don’t seem like you have autism…” like, WHAT DO YOU EXPECT PEOPLE WITH AUTISM TO ACT LIKE? Am I supposed to be walking around singing Disney songs and drooling? (which yes, sadly, this an actual stereo type of autistic people!) like, when people say this, I’m like, “are you serious right now?” Like you literally just asked me why I couldn’t learn the task like a “normal person” so you knew I wasn’t normal, and after I told you why, you don’t believe me? Seriously? So to all those who want to say the same, cut it out! You know we’re not normal, stop stereo typing autistic people to be drooling, singing idiots. WE ARE NOT. Einstein had autism, as did Nikola Tesla, Lewis Carol, and several other successful BRILLIANT people. We are NOT drooling idiots. So next time you want to say “you don’t seem like you have autism,” check yourself. For real!

The second thing I hate is when people say, “look me in the eye.” Another “stereo type” of people with autism is that we can’t or won’t look people in the eyes because we’re socially inept. I for one KNOW it’s polite to look people in the eye and try my best to do so. A LOT of people still say this to me anyway, even after I’ve been looking them in the eyes for long periods of time. A perfect example of this is when someone was talking to me about signing up for a class (and yes she was aware I had autism and fully aware of the stereo type, because everyone in this particular place had autism except for the allegedly ‘trained’ staff, so she should have known better.) This person handed me paper work, and I thought I was being ‘courteous’ by looking at the paperwork she just handed me so I could see what she wanted me to fill out. But she instead said “Alex, look me in the eye. Can you do that? Can you look me in the eye?” That’s what I HAD been doing while she was talking to me. Like, how am I supposed to “look you in the damn eyes” AND look at the paper work you literally just handed me? So stop telling people with autism to look you in the eye. Most of us know we should, and we either will or we won’t. Deal with it!

The third thing I hate isn’t a specific phrase, it’s baby talk. Yes, baby talk. A lot of times when people find out I have autism, they start talking to me as they would a baby, and use a higher pitched silly voice and say something along the lines of “oh that’s great” or “how you doing, buddy.” If you say that to me, I’m NOT your buddy, pal. This is condescending and rude, we’re not babies and we’re not idiots. We’re successful inventors (Einstein) published writers (Lewis Carol) engineers, cashiers, chefs, pilots, lawyers, doctors, and successful people in any other career you can imagine. We’re as smart as the rest of you who don’t have autism, we just learn and act differently. We are not stupid and we don’t have “baby brains.” So, stop that. Stop the baby talk. Thanks. It’s annoying and disrespectful.

Lastly, I’ll share an experience I had growing up, that many people on the autism spectrum share. I got made fun of CONSTANTLY growing up, bullied both verbally and physically. I got called every name under the Sun, freak, loser, idiot, stupid. I had kids (and some adults later on) take money from me only to tell me I’m a loser and ask me why anyone would want to be my friend. I had people throw me to the ground and beat the crap out of me. And the worst part was, when I said something to the “adults and authority’s,” they’d either say “prove it” or the parents would come in saying “you can’t prove anything. My perfect, wonderful child would never bully somebody.” A few of the parents even came in with lawyers and threatened to sue the school if they punished there bully kid because there “was no evidence” aside from my black eye and the tears dripping down my face. So a lot of people with autism grow up NOT trusting authority figures for this reason! So please, if you’re a teacher, teach your students not to tease or harass people who “act different.” Suspend or expel them if they do bully. And if you’re a parent, please, raise your damn kids better. Please stop acting like they’re perfect little angels and would never bully. They’re far from perfect. While a lot of kids are good, a lot of them are the spawn of Satan. They need discipline and to be told bullying is NOT ok, not ever, not even once. If your kids accused of being a bully, maybe he or she is. Try some discipline or at least tell your kid to fix his or her atrocious behavior.

The last thing I’ll say is I got called “stupid” a lot growing up. Now I’m a published writer who in addition to getting a couple “top stories” on vocal, which I’m very proud of, I’ve been published in the Sierra Club newspaper (which went out to hundreds of thousands of people) for a few environmental articles I wrote, I have won prizes and been published in other short story competitions, and got an award for my poetry in my high school newspaper. So clearly, those people who called me stupid were wrong. If you are reading this and you don’t have autism, know that we are not stupid. Just because we act and learn different does NOT mean we are stupid. Just look at my accomplishments, or Einstein, or Lewis Carol. If you are reading this and have autism, don’t give up! Don’t ever give up! Know that you’re smart, you can learn, and you can be successful at doing whatever you set your mind too!

I’m updating this to include one of my favorite quotes by Arthur Fleck: “The worst part of having a mental illness is everyone expects you to act like you don’t…”

friendshipquotespop culturelisthumanityhow toartadvice
13

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Scott Christenson8 months ago

    Nice essay, I relate to a lot of this. Being a bit socially awkward and being called names when I was young which was pretty painful at the time. I learned how to avoid bullying by making allies and having the right comebacks, but it was like the speed of social conversation was going way too fast to really join in, and I could barely get a word in. In writing I can slow down and communicate in full and make a lot more sense. A psychologist told me once there's perhaps 10 broad behaviours that a characteristic of ASD and if a person has 6-7 of them they could be diagnosed as ASD, I might have 4 or 5, and a "normal" person would probably have 2 or 3 anyway. So it's not as if there's a perfect definition. But I def relate to a desire to stick to routines, and just not being able to help weirdly fidget and jump around in my seat ('stimming') when I get excited about something. It def helps to be self aware, and to just explain it to people in various ways so they know where I'm coming from.

  • Lindsey Altomabout a year ago

    Hello! Fellow autistic person! I have Asperger's and to be honest for many years I did not own my diagnoses because I felt that it meant something was wrong with me but now in my 30's I am learning to not only own it but to bring awareness and be proud of it! We are amazing! Thank you so much for writing this as I enjoyed it very much and found it to be very relatable.

  • Heyyy, fellow autist here! Wait is that even a word, lol! I meant to say I'm autistic too! I totally agree with us taking longer in doing certain tasks or learning something. My worst weakness is my sense of direction or directions when driving. Thank God I've never had someone tell me to look them in the eyes or use baby voice to me. I would automatically think they're the dumbest people on the planet. As for bullying, same here buddy. I was called stupid, fat, dark and every mean thing there is. And just like you, no adult or person of authority would believe me because there's no evidence. And get this, I'd be the one who gets punished! I'm so sorry, I didn't mean to make this about me but this was so relatable. I hate people who stereotype us. Thank you for sharing this!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    People can be so insensitive to other people. We all go through something at one time or another that can seem laughable to others. I am so glad you shared a part of you and are helping to spread the truth about Autism. Thank you, my friend. 💖

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    I agree it is important to learn about autism from people with autism. The stereotypes are so harmful. Thank you for sharing. I enjoy your writing.

  • Thank you for writing 📝 Great Insights ❤️✨💯😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.