Humans logo

Apartment 413

Blog 12: Onward

By Melanie GuajardoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Google

November 25, 2020

This past week was very uneventful so in reality there wasn’t much missed. I worked through a lot of personal emotions and issues this week. I was able to really talk about how I feel and make some progress with all the important people in my life. That was just one thing that I felt needed to be done. This week was just emotionally heavy, whether it was because of PMS or mental instability I won’t know. That’s the burden of being a girl, having hormones go a little nuts during menstruation cycles. Regardless it made my heart heavy and it made me want to really analyze the way I have been toward all my loved ones. Now that I was able to express my feelings, I feel so much more resolved and at ease. Back to the regular program, right? Things align when you do what feels right for your soul.

So, this past week might have been uneventful, but the weekend certainly was not. Chris and I went on a small trip back home to the Valley. Saturday morning Chris worked until one in the afternoon. As soon as he got home, he showered we packed up last minute things and hit the road. I drove most of the way and Chris finished getting us all the way to our hometown. We mainly went to visit both our families even if for a minute and to pick up Chris’s huge 70-inch Smart TV. Not only that we planned a small BBQ with all of Chris’s friends. What I thought would be a small gathering turned out to be a sort of party. There were so many of Chris’s old coworkers from the Discount Tire in the valley and a couple of old friends of ours as well. Everyone was enjoying themselves and catching up and it was such a fun time.

As we drank and talked and got to learn about each other’s experiences and what has happened in the time since we moved, we all bonded a bit. I felt Chris get closer to the guys and I got to meet new people. I thoroughly enjoyed most of their company. I always welcome a group of guys that openly invites one of their friend’s girlfriends into the conversation. That is when they see that I too am a dude’s dude, for lack of better words ha! I grew up a tomboy so I always vibe so much better with guys. It’s just the truth of the matter. The great thing is that my boyfriend is amazing. He knows I am an amazing girl and that he can trust me, so he doesn’t hover over me. I can mingle on my own while we still always gravitate back to each other at the end of the day right before we say our goodbyes. It was a fun night full of laughter and alcohol. Nights we love to remember.

Other than that, this week is thanksgiving and then the next Monday is my birthday and I am turning 26 years old. I do not feel afraid of the number because honestly, I feel young and great. But I do realize I am getting older and life is happening all around me at a terrifyingly fast rate. Can’t things just slow down for a second? I hope they do for the weekend. We are going to be Austin bound with the girls for an early birthday celebration for me. We are planning to go to this cute museum then go eat and explore around the city. Then we are going to party Saturday night. Hike and possibly thrift the next day and then party all over again. Monday we will be back on the road to home for a chill evening of wine and music. I look forward to a great trip and loads of fun. Cheer to 26, have a shot for me friend. Enjoy a celebration with me.

travel

About the Creator

Melanie Guajardo

Just a 26 yr old with an active imagination & a lust for life. Follow me @melaniegyo on IG

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melanie GuajardoWritten by Melanie Guajardo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.