Humans logo

A Letter to You: Doshini

Memories

By Jennifer DavidPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
7
A Letter to You: Doshini
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

I, for years, have tried to mimic the resonance of your song. I have failed to strum the right strings, in your succession. My vibrato mimics my longing in futile attempts at playing your refrain. I realize now, however, that the strength of your verse did not come from forced baselines. Instead it was crafted through an entanglement of trial and error, dynamics. The beauty you sang was full of experience, of moments and memories.

Bhajans, like you, tell stories of journeys that wax and wane like the moon. The first resonances heard are soft. Yet with it each note still carries undeniable weight. Then the tune builds. It gains momentum. The melody races. And then it slows. As if it remembered something and wished to simply bask for a moment and reminisce. A pleasant memory.

You cherished memories. Our memories are the only possessions that we are permitted to take with us when we leave this world. Gold, perfumes, cars, diamonds, houses will all be left behind. But each sadness, fear, pain, joy, love, and peace we experience are forever.

It seems like forever since I’ve seen you, since I heard your voice. And yet a mere five years have gone by. Five years of moments, memories, without you. I don’t have the words to fully explain how I feel. I don’t know if I’ll ever find them; but I’ll try. And so the song goes on. Each day I think of you is a new chord added. Each day I miss you is a rest, a silent plea. Every minute I’m reminded of a different moment we shared. I cling to them. And I submerge myself in the sensation.

It’s unexpectedly pleasant. It’s healing.

There’s a needed therapy in remembering, like there’s a need for rain. It’s light at first. Then it’s heavy. It gets light again and then unbearable. It’s a tumultuous, balanced and off balance cry. But it’s needed for flowers to bloom, for growth. It’s needed for me to grow, for me to find meaning in each winding phrase. It’s a long road. It’s one with alluring crescendos and decrescendos. It’s dense. It’s light. It’s infinite. But it’s full of wonder and welcomes transformation and enlightenment. It upholds principles of life. It’s the music theory you instilled in me, the means to write my own melody.

Note from the author:

"A Letter to You: Doshini '' is a work I wrote as a part of my "Letter to You" series. This is a series I had long forgotten. I no longer had the same inspiration to carry these stories with me. I had lost important writing, this one in particular. My resources were not sufficient to complete the work that I had set out to do. And life was kicking me in my lady balls. For reasons bigger than myself–a higher power must have been involved–I recently stumbled upon my draft of "A Letter to You: Doshini ''. I wrote it about a year ago about my friend's mom and their relationship. I was honored that she shared the deep experiences of her life with me. I interviewed her and during that process she seemed to have started to interview herself. It was a profound experience. I am forever grateful for it. And I hope this work will reach whoever needs it. I'm grateful to have written it. Stay tuned for more. The series will go on. In the coming days I'll formally introduce the series and its background. Thank you for reading. Leave a comment if you are so moved. I love to connect with you.

-Jen

friendshipfamily
7

About the Creator

Jennifer David

I hope my thoughts challenge yours

Connect with me on instagram!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    So beautifully written, I love the refelective tone intermingled with lyrical poignancy x Stunning x

  • Jen, this is incredibly beautiful, almost lyrical. Thank you for sharing a piece of your heart here.

  • Stephanie David8 months ago

    This piece really emotes deep feelings....I feel like I want to re-read it over a cup of tea, wrapped in a blanket and reflect on my own mother as I read. God bless you for the open way that you allow yourself to be used in this creative process. Never stop pressing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.