History logo

Touched By History

This is for the new Vocal History Community

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Introduction

This is going to be difficult, though I am worried that people will post anything in each community to get the ten-dollar bonus, I hope Vocal will be checking on this.

I come from Preston but thirty years ago I moved to Newcastle, so is the fact that I moved part of my personal history, and are people actually bothered about my own personal history?

So I will split this into me in Preston and me in Newcastle and suddenly a few things are flying into my brain about this.

I just completed the Art stary and the most difficult part was not submitting it because there is no community for it at the moment.

By Francis Franklin - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=38581877

St Walburge's Church is a Roman Catholic church in Preston, Lancashire, England, northwest of the city centre on Weston Street. The church was built in the mid-19th century to a design by the Gothic Revival architect Joseph Hansom, the designer of the hansom cab, and is famous as having the tallest spire of any parish church in England. St Walburge's is recorded in the National Heritage List for England as a Grade I listed building.

Mike In Preston

I was born and brought up there and spent most of my time in my parents' house Fiddler's Fold until I left. The cottage was supposedly visited by Oliver Cromwell who drowned two monks in a well there. We were unaware of a well until my dad built an extension and then discovered it.

We played with a Ouija board and discovered the monks names, they were father and son, and I wrote about it here.

Grammarly is telling me it should be AN Ouija board, not A Ouija board and I have only just noticed that Ouija is a word that starts with a vowel that is pronounced as a consonant.

Anyway on with history, as your saw Preston has the tallest spire of any parish church in the impressive St Walburgs which I visited once or twice,

I was also close to where the Pendle Witches practised and visited Meg Shelton's grave at Woodplumpton which was covered with a very big rock to make sure she could not rise.

My home football club is Preston North End, who I still support, and they were the first team to win the leagues without losing a match and win the FA Cup without conceding a goal, setting the record number of goals in an English Football match when they beat Hyde United 26-0, so that was a goal every three minutes in that match.

So that is a little of my Preston history, now for Newcastle where I moved around thirty years ago.

Mike In Newcastle

Ten years ago I was part of a chain of light that lit up Hadrian's Wall which was built to keep out the Scots and stretched across the North of England. There is quite a lot of Hadrian's Wall close to me and it ends up in Wallsend where my daughter Juliet lives and there is an impressive installation at Segedunum there. Also, all the signs at Wallsend Metro are in Latin.

My head office is close to Newcastle City Walls and Newcastle still has a Castle. A few years back I took some video from the top which you can watch here.

Mike In Whitby

I will finish this by sharing my walk up to Whitby Abbey, where De=racula came ashore in Bram Stoker's story. The Abbey is now in ruins but still dominates the skyline and every day people climb the 199 steps to see it, although there is a bus that runs there also.

Thank you for being with me on this historical journey.

TriviaGeneralDiscoveries

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Oh the well story, I remember that one! And yes, this definitely belongs in the history community!

  • Nice background info, but I most enjoyed hearing your voice.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.