Geeks logo

Did I Just See What I Think I Saw?

That Was Sick

By Everyday JunglistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sort of like this guy, but way, way, way creepier. From Pixabay. Free for commercial use No attribution required

Author's preface: This incident happened about three years ago. Since that time I have seen a few similar vehicles on various roadways around the country. Seems to be sort of a thing. None could compare to this, none have come even close.

I was driving home from work this past Sunday like any other workday. I came to a stop at a red light and noticed a truck in the road across from me also stopped. At first nothing registered as out of the ordinary but something about it struck me as a bit off, and as I looked more closely I noticed something unusual.

There was a strange yet somehow familiar symbol with alternating red and white inverted triangles on the driver side door and the hood. It looked a bit like the symbol for radiation but different somehow. I knew that symbol, I had seen it before, my mind reeled trying to recall where. Then I noticed the words just below it, ‘Umbrella Corporation’ . Suddenly I had it, Resident Evil, of course. I continued to stare and began to notice more strangeness about the truck, it was newish but painted all black, attached to the back was a small trailer filled with wood, firewood I imagined as it was chopped into smallish pieces and stacked exactly as fire wood would be. The longer I looked, the more it seemed to be a military style vehicle, but the kind used mainly for civilian activities. It looked like something straight out of a video game.

All of this was shocking enough but then I noticed the driver, he/it was a skull head in a uniform. When I say skull head I mean the dude driving the damn thing had a white skull for a head. I am not talking about some two bit weirdo wearing a cheap plastic Halloween mask or some shit, this mother fucker truly looked like he had a skull for a head. I am talking Hollywood quality shit. Primo effects. Very, very, real looking. He was wearing a solid black uniform. It was crisp and sharp. I could see some red and white markings on the shoulders on what looked to be pins or ribbons of some sort. He wore black gloves and stared straight ahead, both hands on the wheel, not moving an inch. Did not even look like he/it was breathing. Of course when you have a skull for a head who can really say what "breathing" would or should look like. He was fucking just sitting there like he was any other Joe six pack on the road, out hauling a load of wood on a Sunday afternoon, stopped at a red light. I was sort of in shock, my mind could not compute what it was seeing, it was more than a bit frightening to be sure. The strangest thing was that nobody else seemed to notice. Everyone else in their cars at that same intersection continued to go about their business like everything was totally normal, like it was any other Sunday, at any other intersection, at any other time of year, without skullface driving an Umbrella Corporation truck sitting at the same intersection. Then again, I likely looked exactly the same to them. What could you really do, what should you do, what would you do? My mind raced, the whole scenario had me seriously freaked out, and for a moment, more than a moment, I thought I might be hallucinating.

Then suddenly, before I could react, the light turned and he/it drove away. My light turned seconds later and almost as if on auto pilot I drove in the other direction. All of this happened in what had to be under thirty seconds. It had felt like minutes, hours even. Crazy how high stress changes ones perception of time. I was three blocks away before the whole thing fully registered in my brain. I was actually breathing hard, a bit short of breath. It was the weirdest thing I had ever seen and also one of the most disturbing for some reason. What really freaked me out, and etched the entire affair into my long term memory, was the last thing I saw as he turned and the back of his truck became visible. In clear black letters on the rear window the words…..

“Our business is life itself”

P H A T phat, sick.

cosplay
Like

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.