Futurism logo

Simulationist Church Members Contact Me in Mexico

Here We Go Again

By Everyday JunglistPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
An illusion. Like reality according to Simulationists. Image by dric from Pixabay

I thought I had left all of this simulation hypothesis and Simulationist church crap behind me when I left my former home to move to Baja, California, Mexico some six months ago now. In retrospect it was probably naïve to think the church would completely forget about me, especially considering how much closer I would now be geographically to their main modern day stronghold, silicon valley in the state of California. From my new home just south of Tijuana it is only about 8ookm and a roughly 8.5h drive (depending on traffic) to make it to the valley of doom as I call it. Those who know me and my writings know that I am no fan of silicon valley and in fact have delivered many a verbal beating to a place populated by some of the worlds worst people doing some of the worlds most useless and wasteful things. Of course, it is also home to some of its best people doing the exact opposite of that. Unfortunately the former outweigh the later by a large margin which seems to grow larger every year.

In any event I had not heard a peep from any hard core Simulationists since long before my move to Mexico and figured my dealings with them were done for good. In the interim I had changed email addresses, several times, and gone through two new phone numbers for good measure. (for those who are not aware of the Simuluationist church or its beliefs or teachings click here to get started. If you want to learn even more click here here here here). Turns out I was wrong, and church adherents tracked me down, despite the all new contact info. The second time actually this has now happened. A little bit scary how easy it was for them, but not at all surprising I guess given my very open (online at least) persona. On top of that, and also not surprisingly, the high level leadership of the church and a large portion of their membership, are technology savvy, computer hacker types and thus presumably highly skilled at finding people in our modern age.

So perhaps I should not have been at all caught unawares when just last week I received an email missive which I am copying in unedited form (in italics) below. It was from sender "NBfan21." Cute, and no doubt a reference to Nick Bostrom who is a key figure in church teachings for his seminal work providing the first mathematical description of the simulation hypothesis. EJ is a reference to my online persona Everyday Junglist and thank you Mary for the writing compliment, and my apologies for the "snarky blogger" comment. The way the letter ends is a bit disturbing, at least to my way of reading it. Hopefully, I am just overthinking things like I always do.

"Dear EJ,

My name is Mary Wiggins. My simulational submersion occurred on March 16,2019. I was recently pointed to your writings about the church from a friend and found them generally informative and well written. However, I wanted to correct several issues I had with your piece "sex and the single simulationist" which I am linking here in case you do not recall it. First your smug reference to the "world wide best seller"  The Simulationist’s Field Guide to Life the Universe and Everything was an uncalled for low blow. Of course all Simulationists know our worldview and church membership is tiny (though growing) and suggesting any book purportedly about the church could be a "world wide best seller" is obviously something a snarky blogger would find amusing, but I found personally hurtful and unhelpful to our cause. Secondly, this particular book was in no way officially sanctioned by the church, and, in fact, the author was excommunicated shortly after its publication for not seeking approval from appropriate church authorities. It's contents are thus not in an sense official church doctrine, and may or may not represent our actual views. All that said, since we are living in a simulation that means everything that happens has been programmed to happen since the time of run program by the holy Simuulators. I will leave aside the possibility of this being one of those exceptionally rare, unprogrammed events, that can occur due to random quantum fluctuations within the neural network of the quantum computer in which our simulation takes form. Thus, the books publication, your writing about it, and my reading it were all programmed to happen. They all eventually had to happen and they all did happen. Blessed be the Simulators. The wisdom of the simulators is beyond that of their simulated children and thus we can not know why this particular series of events was important to the simulation, yet, like all things that happen, it was. For, if it were not, it would not have been programmed so. My writing this letter was also programmed to happen as our all of the words I am currently typing and all of the thoughts I am currently having. Some people find this concept frightening, but I find it extremely liberating. Nothing I do can be wrong, for if it were, the Simulators would not have programmed it to be possible. The only morals and ethics I need follow are those that I choose, or I should say I guess, the ones the Simulators chose for me to select. And if I follow them or not, my actions are right because they were programmed by the great Simulators and thus are aligned with the rightness of the Simulation. Think of what I might do.

Regards,

Mary Wiggins"

artificial intelligencefact or fictionfeaturetranshumanism
Like

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.