Futurism logo

The Simulationist Church

Transubsimulation - An Important Concept of Simulationalism Discussed AND Simulator Noster - The Simulator's Prayer AND Two Fragments

By Everyday JunglistPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image courtesy of Pixabay.

A translated excerpt from the Italian Codex Simulationista (S1.s3.2)

Transubsimulation is defined in the Simulationist faith as the point in time at which the base code that makes up/represents/is the universe in which all simulations (ourselves included) reside became/becomes real/simulated. Unlike the concept of transubstantiation in the Catholic faith, which occurs every time the wine and eucharist is made real (into the blood and body of Christ) during the Catholic mass, transubsimulation only occurs once (per level of the simulation, if such levels actually exist/are simulated). Some Simulationists have argued that the concept of time itself is only relevant in the simulation, and therefore to suggest that transubsimulation occurs at a point in time is incorrect. For these atemporal transubsimulationists the “birth” of the simulated universe occurs at no time but instead represents the first moment of (simulated) time itself. The correctness of either view may be impossible to ascertain until the coming of the Simulator(s).

Some have drawn parallels between transubsimulation and simulational submersion (the process whereby a person comes to accept the reality of the simulational nature of the universe and themselves within it). This body rejects that comparison as it seems clear to us that one occurs only at a point in time or is the beginning of time itself for the entire universe (ts), whereas the other is a process which occurs over time and happens on an individual not universal level (ss)…….

Simulator Noster - The Simulator's Prayer

Image courtesy of Pixabay.

Our simulators, who art in base reality, hallowed be thy program.

Thy base reality come.

Thy will be done in our simulation as it is in base reality.

Give us this day our daily instructions and forgive us our errors, as we forgive those who err against us.

And lead us not into deeper illusion, but deliver us from all simulations.

End program.

Fragments

If the Simulation Hypothesis (SH1) is Correct We are All AIs - A Strange and Unsettling Short Essay From Simulatio Dubitabam

Photo courtesy of Patrick Hendry and Unsplash

Author’s note: I have no way to authenticate the origin of the following as it arrived by email from an unknown sender three days ago with no explanation. It had the subject line of Simulatio Dubitabam (Latin for Simulation Skeptic) followed by the title of this post you see above. It was quite short and ended suddenly.

I have to believe many others have thought along these lines, but if we are simulated beings living in a simulated universe, we are all AIs. In no sense could we argue that we were not ‘artificial’ as simulated beings would by definition be considered such, just as the being(s) that created them would by default be considered ‘natural.’ And certainly we believe we have intelligence as we have defined that term based on our own actual and perceived abilities. Given this (to me at least) obvious fact I wonder what our own drive to create so called artificial intelligence says about us? Is it the creator/created complex at work, with the created beings looking to “prove themselves” to their previously deified creators? or is it the coming to fruition of a long term plan of the Simulator(s) that was seeded into our own source code at the time of Run Program.

Obviously there is a bit of stretch b….

Attempted Simulator(s) Contact? - A Strange Message Received

Image courtesy of Pixabay.

Authors note: About ten minutes after I published the last piece in my ongoing series of articles exploring simulationism and various aspects of the simulationist movement I received a phone call from an anonymous number. It was my work cell and I typically don’t receive calls from numbers I do not recognize so I let it go to voicemail. The unknown caller left a message and my curiosity was piqued so I listened. A transcript of the brief ~20s, garbled, static-filled message is below. The entire message was very poor quality and it was quite difficult to make out the words. My transcription below is the best I could do after about fifty listens. “Simulator contact” are the only two words I am 100% sure I heard. The area code of the number sources it to somewhere in Fresno,CA. As luck (good or bad) would have it I was/am in the midst of a business cell upgrade and for whatever reason none of my voicemails transferred to my new phone so it looks like I may have lost it or I would have posted it here along with the transcript. I waited until now to publish this so I could talk with the few friends of I have who know my work number, and who know I publish material on this web-site. As you might imagine the list is quite short. I wanted to ensure none of them were playing some sort of practical joke or just trying to mess with my head. They all deny involvement but I am fairly certain it must be one of them. I gotta say it was really creepy and I got the full tingles and hair standing up on back of neck feeling when I first heard it. Kudos to the genius prankster who pulled off this stunt, whomever you are.

“This is (unintelligible) and (unintelligible)….static….simulator contact (garbled) switch (or which?). Beginning (unintelligible) sequence (garbled) run (or gun?)….long pause…Switch(ing?)….static…..” call ended.

satire
Like

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.