Filthy logo

Awake in the Night

Chapter 1: Part 1

By AshleyPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

She sat on the bed and watched him pack his clothes.

"You can't do this Erik. You can't leave," Grace shouted as tears streamed down her cheeks.

"You did this. You pushed me to leave and you know it," Erik continued stuffing the big, black garbage bag. He paused and looked back, "How can you pretend that you love me? After everything you just put this family through? How can you?"

"Baby, I do love you. I didn't mean to hurt you. Can we talk about it?"

"You want to talk about you fucking another dude in my house, in my room, on my bed?" Erik grinned in disgust, "Bitch, you must be out of your mind. You need more help than I can give."

Erik stood up and grabbed his bag of clothes. "I'll be back for the rest of my shit tomorrow. And I'm picking the kids up from school. Don't say a word to them. We will tell them together when we get here tomorrow. If you never give me anything else in this world, peace for my kids is all I'm asking for. Can you do that?" Erik wiped the sweat from his forehead.

"Fuck you, Erik. You're not picking them up from school, they are riding the bus like they do every day. Why are you being such a dick? Grow up!" Grace kept secrets from Erick for years, she didn't want him to leave. Who would pay the bills and how would she provide for the kids? She started crying, "can we please talk about it and fix it? I know you were cheating too. I saw the receipt for Olive Garden in your wallet the other day. We can fix this. Please?"

"You're brilliant! That receipt was from my mom's birthday. No, we can't talk. You don't trust me and I don't trust you. There's nothing to talk about. And yes, I am picking the kids up from school tomorrow. You'll see. Goodbye, Grace!" Erik put his hand on the doorknob.

"They aren't yours. None of them, Erik..."

He froze, fighting back the tears in his eyes, "What are you saying? Grace, what are you saying to me right now?" He turned around, face to face, eye to eye.

"I'm saying they aren't yours. The kids aren't yours. You are already leaving, I figured I should tell you now."

"They are my fucking kids, Bitch! Don't tell me they're not!" Erik laced his hands together behind his back. He slowly walked towards her as she backed against the wall. His heart racing, palms sweaty, he stared into her eyes. "Listen here, I don't care who's blood they have running through their veins... ask them who their dad is." He backed up as she rushed down the hall.

"Why are you running? What are you doing?" Erik followed her.

She shuffled the stack of papers on her desk, "they were right here. I know I had them."

He pulled a wad of folded up papers from his pocket, "are you looking for these?"

Grace sighed. "How did you get those?" she asked.

"It was easy. The other night when you 'went to your sisters' I came in here and did exactly what you just did. I shuffled through some papers. You fucked up and I knew it was just a matter of time. You said your phone was going to die and you forgot your charger at home. I was gonna be the nice husband and bring it to you. I searched the whole house and couldn't find it. Jace brought it to me and said it was on your desk, which is the one room you are never in anymore. I called your sister and asked her to tell you I was bringing you your charger. You forgot to call her and have her cover for you," he had a smile on his face. "How could you be so stupid?"

Grace stared at him. The room was silent for a moment. "Look, I need those back."

"No, you don't. They are my kids and I'm waiving my rights to any paternity tests. And you know what, I'm calling off today. I'm gonna go grab lunch and then pick up the kids when they get out of school. I think we should tell them today. Just in case you accidentally say anything later." Erik turned around and quickly made his way out of the front door.

fictionrelationships
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.