Fiction logo

The Baby

10th January, Story #10/366.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
26
Image is generated by AI (sorry! I feel dirty!)

I didn't see the dragonling at first, tiny as he was, and camouflaged to look leaf-like. A young branch curled up away from its trunk, and around into a circle. The forest viewed through it looked strange, like it was a badly-focused camera lens. I was puzzling at that when the "leaf" moved and I saw him. Clinging to that curved twig: there's his tail, his spine, his head cocked and looking right at me.

I froze, staring. Were my eyes playing tricks? Was I dreaming?

Unable to resist his smallness and vitality, I reached out, cupping my hands round him-

Ouch! He was hot! I almost dropped him, but he was so little and I didn't want to hurt him. He nipped at my rough handling, his scalding purplish-black tongue swiping at the blood that welled up. I gritted my teeth against the pain, determined not to let go. He was too wonderful, and besides, without tangible proof, nobody would believe me. I wouldn't believe myself.

I held him against my chest, with my sleeve pulled down over my hand to protect my skin. Dismay at the singed patches on my hoodie dismissed, and pained sobs swallowed, I hurried home.

In stories, kids keep secrets like this from their parents. But those kids never met my mum. You know the mum in E.T.? Yeah, she's not like her. At all. There was no way I could hide my injuries. Plus, they hurt and needed cream or bandages or something.

"Muuuuuum!" I practically kicked the door down and burst into the kitchen.

"What?" She turned from sink, and immediately zeroed in on my hands.

"What have you got th- What have you done to your hands?!"

"A baby dragon, mum! I found him in the forest, look-"

I set him down on the table, where he steamed gently.

She gave a little scream, and pulled away. The same stuff that drew me to him made him scary and gross to her. She yelled for Dad.

That's how I've got a baby dragon in an old hamster cage, and why Mum's trying to scrub scorch marks that look like little claw prints off the kitchen table.

++++++++++++

Word count: 366

Submitted on 10th January at 00:05AM

*Author's Note*

Thank you for reading! I appreciate your engagement and try to reciprocate all reads. Please leave a comment to make that easy. If you enjoyed it, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

The story behind the story: I'm writing a story every day this year. So far, I am 10 for 10! I'll link the others below.

To be honest, the inspiration for this one came from a mish mash of places. The first spark was this picture I stumbled across on Twitter:

+

+

+

+

It's a plastic dinosaur, but didn't you see a baby dragon for a moment? Or was that just me?

I'd already done a story about a dragon who finds a lost child in the forest, so I thought, why not reverse it? The twig in a circle also put me in mind of Mike's fairy door challenge from last year. A perfectly plausible gateway for my dragonling to stumble through from another world.

If you...

  • are also writing a story every day
  • are inspired by the dragon/fairy door picture
  • write a microfiction about a child who finds a baby dragon

...please leave your link in the comments. I'd love to see what you come up with.

MY JANUARY MICROFICTIONS

1st: A New Beginning

2nd: The Other Guy

3rd: One Day, I Just Disappeared

4th: The Wages of Sin

5th:Where Am I?

6th: A Visit to Nana's

7th: Honour and Obey

8th: Another Life

9th: A Motherless Child

I'll come back and edit to add links to other people's efforts here 👇

Young AdultShort StoryMicrofictionFantasy
26

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    What's a little pain when you find a baby dragon?? Loved this beginning :)

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    I would have definitely done the same and took it home. Cute story!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    👏 Cute! 🐉 ☺️

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    Great story!😊💕

  • Gina C.4 months ago

    Such a charming, short story! I love dragons so much and the image of a dragon in a hamster cage was so adorable. I admire you so much for your ability to craft a story each day this year! 🤗❤️ Keep it up!

  • Hottest pet this year. Everyone is going to want one now. And supplies are greatly limited.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji4 months ago

    I still feel I wouldn't have touched the dragon. If he hurt me I would probably be mean and drop him

  • Saw the baby dragon. I remember the challenge about a dragon finding a small child. Great Micro-fiction. Really liked the E.T. reference.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Aww he's so cut. Set him freeeeee.

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    This was so cute! I love the idea of the kid finding a dragon and having the age old kid talk with the parents "PLEEEAAASSSEEE can I keep him?" Lovely and sweet story, LC :)

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    I find this story cute , picturing a dragon in an hamster cage

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    That is a lovely story and yes, I remember the challenge, from Christopher Paolini. It's a nice spin on the story, like finding fairies at the bottom of the garden, only hotter. This was mine from then https://vocal.media/fiction/arrowhead-mountain

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    So cute, but I think that dragon should be taken back out to the forest. Mind you, what if he's been deserted?

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I can see why you used AI for your picture. And who wouldn't want to discover a dragon in the woods? Baby dinosaurs seem to get left everywhere. I saw one in a graveyard on a tomb once.

  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    He is cute enough to want to take home. Loved this microfiction ❤️🦖

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    What a cute story! I wouldn’t be surprised if the mama dragon ended up coming around looking for her baby, though. That usually doesn’t end well.

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Great story, L.C.! I laughed at the part about the mom in E.T. NOT my mom!

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Ha! Love this. Man, I would love a pet dragon!

  • Awww, this was soooo adorable! Now I wanna teeny tiny dragon too!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I love little Puff! Great story. More, more, more please.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    This is so cute

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.