Fiction logo

One Day, I Just Disappeared

A story every day in 2024 - 3rd January, 3/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
16
One Day, I Just Disappeared
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

Four years old

The first time I woke up invisible, I thought I was dreaming. I'd had lots of real-seeming dreams just like it. I played with my toys and it looked like they were moving about by themselves. I giggled. My voice was invisible, too.

Mum found me gone and panicked. Without thinking, I stood up saying, "I'm here," She turned around, sagged, a hand to her heart. She could see me. I looked down at my hands. I could see me, too. How...?

I ate toast with strawberry jam (no bits), wondering, was it another dream? Can you... awake-dream? It felt so real. At least I wasn't stuck invisible. Imagine if mummy couldn't see me again.

Six years old

Two years later, it happened again. I was thrilled. Full of mischief, wondering How long could I stay invisible for?

I followed Mummy while she looked for me, frantic.

When daddy called 999, I started to worry. How do I stop it?! Can I? Did I die and not notice?! I shouted, but couldn't make them hear me.

Helicopters and dogs searched. I sat in my room, sobbing. At last, I realised I could hear myself, and... yes, see myself. I ran to mummy and her bone-crushing relief. When asked where I'd been, I said "In my room". Daddy frowned.

Puberty

Growing up, it happened a lot. I learned to control it. It's a knack, like snapping your fingers, except I can't if someone is looking at me.

I caused trouble. I spied on people. I skipped school, soon realising it was easier to just skip classes. I haunted my brother's room until he got so scared daddy said we'd have to move. I couldn't explain how I'd done it, but I came clean. The "haunting" stopped. Eventually, Joey's bedwetting stopped as well.

Twenty-three years old

I "met" someone online. We lived on different continents. Neither of us had much money. No plane ticket, no problem! I skipped check-in, drifted through the airport, and ghosted onto the plane.

All went swimmingly until the engine failed.

My mother has no idea I died.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count: 366 - bang on the nose for the third day running!

* * * * Author's Note * * * *

As always - thank you for reading! I appreciate all engagement, and I try to reciprocate all reads. Please leave a comment to make it easy for me to do that. (Please don't leave a link unless you're taking part - see below👇 ) If you enjoyed it, the best compliment you can give me is to read another!

The story behind the story: I'm writing a story every day this year. The aim is one microfiction story every day, with a word limit of 366. This is the third one. It's not autobiographical.

A Story Every Day in 2024: You can read about this madcap adventure here and here, and, if you're joining me, the first list of prompts here.

You can read my first one here: A New Beginning

and my second one here: The Other Guy

Today's prompt: I didn't use a prompt today. I freestyled it!

If you are on this madcap yearlong escapade with me:

1. What prompt or inspiration are you using for today's story?

2. Please link to your story in the comments - I'm doing my level best to make sure I read them all.

Short StoryMicrofiction
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Your MC evanesced! Yay! Someone else understands, lol.

  • Hahahahahahahahahaha I know that's sad but me being me, I found it funnyyyyyy!!! On the bright side, now they can authentically haunt their brother 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Ugh!!! Those long distant relationships will kill ya every time! lol.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji5 months ago

    Wow dark and karma hit like a b@@@. great one

  • Talk about a punch to the gut at the end!

  • Alexander McEvoy5 months ago

    WOW!!! Goodness me and WOW LC! Brilliantly done! I loved the ending in particular, but my favourite piece was the haunting of her brother. Exactly what I'd expect from an older (?) sister! Super enjoying your microfiction challenge, LC! Can't wait to see what comes next!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Oh god. What a jolly!

  • Adam 5 months ago

    I have to say, your storytelling prowess is amazing! This tale's blend of the supernatural and the emotional journey of a person who is intermittently invisible is captivating. The evolution of their experiences, from amusement to concern, and finally to the dramatic event at the end, is gripping.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Could you imagine? That'd be a horrible way to go

  • You're off to a fabulous start for your 365 microfictions this year... Intriguing read... sad ending... poor Mum!

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    I used one of Alexander McEvoy's today and had fun with a different zombie-type story. I loved this one, L.C.! Here's the link to mine: https://vocal.media/fiction/somehow-he-was-still-not-dead

  • This is the first one I've read, so you will be catching me up soon. Excellent concept and well written.

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    That was a tragic ending. Three stories 362 to go. It’s nice to know I will be reading a story of yours every day this year. 🥰

  • Mohammed Darasi5 months ago

    Sheesh! That's an abrupt ending 🤣. Fun story though for sure 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.