Fiction logo

A Motherless Child

9th January, Story #9/366. Prompt: A story about an orphan child

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
12
A Motherless Child
Photo by Anna Niezabitowska on Unsplash

I was a motherless child, then a childless mother. There's symmetry in that, no? And then there was her, and she was a motherless child as well. Maybe that is why something in her sang to me, and why my heart vibrated with it.

I watched her when I thought she didn't know (of course she did). She sat and watched TV like any kid. She'd rub the cotton of her pyjama bottoms between her thumb and forefingers absently, as if for comfort, a grubby bunny jammed in her armpit. When she stretched her lips in a smile, it looked fake, but sometimes they twitched in a way she seemed unaware of.

I scooped her up, all those years ago, and I became the thing I despised: I deserted. I tore off my uniform and my stripes, I wrapped this ramshackle little home around us, and became something I never thought I would: a mother.

I've watched her, year after year, my hair greying and the skin on my upper arms loosening, while she sits and watches cartoons and ferrets about in a nostril. Sometimes, when the house was still, I fancied I could hear her ticking.

In the early hours of this morning, the thing I'd feared and waited for finally came knocking. The instant my eyes opened I knew. I went to her room anyway, and sobbed at the sight of her empty, crumpled sheets.

In the kitchen, she turned around and regarded me with shrewd eyes, a knife in her hand. I searched her face for warmth, and found none. I'd been so sure that if I could believe she was a little girl, really treat her like one... love her like one, like my daughter... then it might be enough. As if love could override base programming.

Aren't we all a product of programming, though, one way or another? It could have worked.

She sliced the skin away from her forearm, and fished out the device with sticky red fingers. Not blood. Not real blood.

We hovered in an endless moment. I wasn't sure what she'd do. Maybe she wasn't either.

"B-b-baby? Please don't. Put it down. For me. For Mama."

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count: 366

Submitted on 9th January at 00:06 AM

* * Author's Note * *

As always, thank you for reading! Please leave a comment to make it easy for me to reciprocate.

The story behind the story: I'm writing a story every day this year. Hard to believe it's been a week already! This one makes an 8 day streak. I'll link to the others below.

The Prompt: A story about a child orphaned by war. I intended to submit this one on the 6th, for the World Day of War Orphans, but I've been sat on it because I wasn't sure I hit my own brief. I'm still not sure. I also made a mistake in the subtitle and labelled it the 8th, not the 9th - oops! Going to see if I can fix that now.

If you are joining me on this "story every day" adventure, or if you write something with this prompt, please leave a link in the comments.

JANUARY MICROFICTIONS

Here are my micro fictions so far this year:

1st - A New Beginning

2nd - The Other Guy

3rd - One Day, I Just Disappeared

4th - The Wages of Sin

5th - Where Am I?

6th - A Visit to Nana's

7th - Honour and Obey

8th - Another Life

Edit: Please consider reading Jennifer's and Rachel's pieces for today.

Jennifer isn't doing Microfiction madness, but is committing to an article every day, and there have been some bangers!

Rachel used the title prompt "Hidden Faces" for this micro. Enjoy!

I'll come back and edit to leave more links to people taking part 😁

Sci FiShort StoryMicrofiction
12

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    As A.I. becomes sentient & self-aware....

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I'm intrigued, thinking about consciousness and ethics here.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji4 months ago

    Psychotic child...she likely won't put knife down. It can be a great metaphor for a toxic relationship-holding knife to the mother

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    So well done! I am in awe of you creating a work.of fiction every day. I don't think I could ever do that! Really enjoyed this.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Great stuff.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Wow. Thought this was brill. I think it totally worked.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    That ending was such a surprise, I had to go back and read a second time. Then I could see the hints. Excellent story.

  • I didn’t see that coming. Wow! What great writing. I have enjoyed reading your pieces and am so glad I found your profile! I’m also very grateful because I’m not sure if I would’ve kept up with my commitment of writing a piece everyday in 2024. Here’s my latest. 🙏🏻 https://vocal.media/viva/table-for-one-um-ok

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    Woah, that was disturbing in the most incredible way. That was quite the twist on the original prompt that you started with. I love it!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I want more!!! You got me on this one!!!

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Oh I loved it! It was so sweet and wholesome, then you cracked in the back of the head while I wasn't looking with a darkness that I never imagined! In my mind the child is a robot, and looking back through the text, I think I can piece together the hints of foreshadowing. Beautifully done, LC!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.