Fiction logo

Stay In Your Homes

(13th January, Story #13/366.)

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
16
Stay In Your Homes
Photo by Loan on Unsplash

It started when the rock appeared in the sky, blotting out the sun. Darkness descended, days of night. A media black-out: TVs didn't work, nor did internet, radios, phones, GPS. We sat and watched and listened anyway. For reassurance. Information. Instructions.

Helicopters wafted ineffectually around it like gnats, and then wheeled away. Soldiers hand-delivered food packages with government messages: Stay In Your Homes.

It must have been two, maybe three days when it happened. I woke in the middle of the night, paralysed, with one of Them leaning over me. The dull bluish skin of its bulbous head looked dead, its eyes shone. I couldn't scream.

I woke later, in the dark, wondering... Had I dreamt it? Had it fried my brain? Wishing I didn't live alone, that I could call someone or leave the flat. I'd always prided myself on being self-reliant. But now, I needed to know I wasn't crazy. Or, even better, that I was crazy, that it didn't happen.

The day they left, the attacks started. All kinds of animals turned on us, as if on some signal. Across the street, a guy was savaged to death by his dog. The woman next door had her legs gnawed off by her poodle and nearly died. In the flat downstairs, a kitten had taken a woman's eye. Cats, birds, horses, cows, tigers, mice, elephants, snakes...

The military evacuated everyone and set up Retreat Bunkers. The girl downstairs cried for her kitten, locked in the bathroom. Her mum looked grim, her eyesocket poorly bandaged with a dishtowel.

A boy tried to smuggle his hamster in. "What harm can it do in its cage?" his dad blustered. They took the creature away. I don't know what for.

We lived in grey, (literally) lifeless bunkers until the town was "reclaimed": ie. sterile.

Now, everyone is armed. Doors won't open, unless they recognise a human face. If there's a spider in your room, it will lay eggs in your ears, or eyes. Whichever bit it can reach that's vulnerable.

I miss colour. I miss sparrows.

We look star-ward, waiting for Them to come back. I half-hope they win.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count: 366

Submitted on 13th January at 00:08AM

* * * Author's Note * * *

Thank you for reading! Please leave a comment to make it easy for me to reciprocate.

The story behind the story: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 13 day streak. I'll link to the others below.

If you're joining me on this "story every day" adventure, please leave a link in the comments. I'd love to see what you come up with for today. I'll try to come back and edit this to link to your piece at the bottom.

JANUARY MICROFICTIONS

Here are my micro fictions so far this year:

1st: A New Beginning

2nd: The Other Guy

3rd: One Day, I Just Disappeared

4th: The Wages of Sin

5th: Where Am I?

6th: A Visit to Nana's

7th: Honour and Obey

8th - Another Life

9th: A Motherless Child

10th: The Baby

11th: Totzilla

12: The Sickening

Thank you again, and sorry if I bummed you out!

CONTENT WARNINGShort StorySci FiMicrofiction
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶4 months ago

    Wow!! Reminds me of Alfred Hitchcock. Such a cute little kitty... until They came!

  • What a twist on Invasion of the Body Snatchers!

  • This could expand into a great horror in so many ways!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    It seems like perhaps we could manage this....until you remember the insects.

  • Yesssss!! Finallyyyyyy the animals are taking over! As they should! Loved your story!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    This was wonderful in all the skin-tingling, chill-making, paranoia-inducing ways possible.

  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    I'm always tempted to write "I want more of this" on amazing micro fictions like this (because I do), but I suppose that's kind of why they're so appealing too - short, sweet and a little mysterious. Nice one! Love your goal to write something every day too!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    Holy crud this one disturbed me. We have three dogs in the house, so my family would be dead if this happened. Very well written.

  • WHAT A STORY! LOVED IT!

  • Quite creatively interesting L.C. What an imagination you have. I will be reading more!!!

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Jesus. The other day you freaked me out about babysitting… now I will never be able to sleep with a spider in the room! Yikes! Great storytelling… fab writing.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    That just freaked me tf out. I'm trying to decide whether continue to allow Abigail to snooze on the couch, or just throw her off the balcony. 😬😳

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    This is so horrifyingly great! I could vividly imagine this world.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Horrific!!! Wonderfully written!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Wow, I hope that will never happen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.