Fiction logo

The Sickening

(12th January, Story #12/366.)

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
23
The Sickening
Photo by Max LaRochelle on Unsplash

When Dad saw the dragonling on the kitchen table, he did a double-take. I didn't think people did those in real life. Took his glasses off, cleaned them, put them back on. The whole bit. Got close, drinking in every scale. His eyes, already huge behind his glasses, looked even bigger.

He paced and muttered, eyes shining. I didn't realise at first, what he planned to do.

"You're going to have to find somewhere to put it," he said. "It mustn't escape. I'll take it in to work. Tonight! The guys in Zoology need to see this. This is huge."

"He," I bristled. "Not it."

I put a heat pad in the hamster cage for him. You need a name. Then he can't call you It.

The sky outside my bedroom window darkened, and wild drops spat against the glass. Under a distant rumbling, I could hear dad's restless footsteps and one half of his muffled conversation. Someone from the university where he worked, probably. They're going to take you away from me. What are they going to do to you? What have I done?

But the unexpected storm rolled all around us with no sign of stopping. Mum put her foot down.

"It's not safe!"

"It-um- He can't stay in a hamster cage," Dad said. "He's a reptile. The zoology department will have the right equipment to keep him alive. Better than what we've got, anyway."

Panic blossomed in my chest. What if Lex died!

Dad offered him steak, which he didn't eat.

I kept up a relay of hotwater bottles until late into the night, but Lex's skin was cooling, his movements weaker. I unbound my hand, poked the bite until it bled, and offered it to him.

I dozed on my back, Lex hot on my chest and slurping at my bloodied hand. The storm crashed through my dreams, howling with rage and threatening fire.

That's how I knew before I woke that she was coming. She'd tear the sky in two to get to him if she had to.

And that's why, when a storm rattles the windows, you should check if anyone has a baby dragon hidden in their house.

++++++++++

Word count: 365

Submitted on 12th January at 00:09 AM

* * * Author's Note * * *

As always, thank you for reading! Please leave a comment to make it easy for me to reciprocate.

The story behind the story: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 12 day streak. I'll link to the others below.

The Prompt: This one continues from "The Baby".

Disclaimer: This one might not be a microfiction in the true sense, now that I've made it a segment of a larger story. There are a couple like this that I enjoyed so much I want to revisit and spin out, so I'm allowing it.

Here's my question to you: Are there any of these stories👇 that you wanted to know what happened next?

If you are joining me on this "story every day" adventure, please leave a link in the comments.

JANUARY MICROFICTIONS

Here are my micro fictions so far this year:

1st: A New Beginning

2nd: The Other Guy

3rd: One Day, I Just Disappeared

4th: The Wages of Sin

5th: Where Am I?

6th: A Visit to Nana's

7th: Honour and Obey

8th - Another Life

9th: A Motherless Child

10th: The Baby

11th: Totzilla

FantasyYoung AdultShort StorySeriesMicrofiction
23

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Oooo boy. I’ve heard the expression not to mess with Momma Bear, but momma dragon feels a lot more terrifying! Also laughed my ass off at that last paragraph. Loving this series!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Yo, Turns out I had read parts one and two - woop! Woop! 😄

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    I loved that last line!!! Momma in the house! Great storytelling :)

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    I think there is a moral here somewhere, lol. I'm still trying to formulate it! Loved the sequel. Too bad the day had to find out. Parents ruin everything😅.

  • Kelly Sibley 4 months ago

    Ooooo, that hooked my attention straight away! Very well done.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Ooohhh. Mama's coming and she's gonna be mad!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji4 months ago

    I wonder what the mother dragon will do when she finds Lex

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I have to get the stories organized. I need to understand why the baby is on the table. Very interesting.

  • Bloody right, you should, lol. Wonderful story!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    https://vocal.media/fiction/the-frozen-lake-mj3ku01ub I think you might have read mine for today.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Good. I liked this continuation. I wonder where mama dragon was?

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Well I enjoyed the revisit.

  • Oh noooo, she's coming!!! They better watch out! So glad you continued that story. Also, now I changed my mind. I don't want a teeny tiny dragon anymore 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    You could be onto something here. A novel by stealth. I have written a few stories involving dragons. It's a fun concept, with almost no limits. This was interesting.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Ha! I'll allow it! Too right. You have to write what happens next. (just so I know what to do when I stumble across a bloodsucking baby dragon).

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Wow, is this going to be a series ????

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    I love this continuation. I hope that you take it even further, especially with the main character's growing attachment to Lex and how that might conflict (or fall into sync) with both the wants of the mother dragon and the needs of the baby dragon.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Oh, no, a storm is brewing, and I don't think they can handle what it's bringing.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    I want my baby back baby baby back! I love that you did a continuation! Give the people what they want!!! Lol. ☺️👍

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I love the "I'll allow it!" AWESOME. I also LOVED this part of the story. And the fact that the child loved Lex enough to sacrifice for him!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.