Fiction logo

Burning Bright

27th March, Story #87/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a month ago 3 min read
14
Burning Bright
Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

I aim to write these so that you can enjoy them as stand alone stories, or one after the other. If you'd like to do the latter (they're all very short):

1. A Cock About to Cro-

2. Cat and Mouse

3. Just Desserts

4. A Pound of Soul

5. How Much Cake is one Soul Worth?

6. Hungry Like a Wolf

7. Hunt For a New Toy

8. The Dreamscape

9. Of Bone-crushing Hugs and Healing Purrs

10. One Expensive Cat

11. The Worst Suit

++++++++++++

Her hand ran from the tip of my head, between my silken pointed ears, all the way to the end of my tail. I rippled under it, the cream-coloured fur changing to jet black. I fixed her with my blue stare.

Do it again.

This time orange and black stripes chased her little hand, my ears rounded, my feet grew huge. She squealed in delight to have a tiger cub to play with. I rolled, purring, letting her tickle my stark white tummy, and batting her fingers with my paws.

"How'd you do that?" she wanted to know.

I wasn't sure how to answer, so I changed the subject.

Did your mum get more tuna like I asked?

"Yes."

Not the salty kind?

"Don't think so."

Thank you.

She sat hugging her bare knees, staring at me. This was her habit before a Big Question.

"Why are you different? I mean... You're not so friendly when I'm awake."

The cat she played with in her waking hours was just a regular cat, and I wasn't really a cat at all... but I couldn't tell her that.

Everyone's different here, I told her.

"No they aren't," she said. "I'm not."

It's different for you. You're a child. Children are what they are.

She seemed to accept this explanation. Kids, I've learned, go more on tone than content. Maybe I spoke more truly than I'd realised.

It's scarier for me out there. I could get hurt. You need to remember to be careful when you pick me up, OK?

A guilty expression flitted across her features. Hmm. So that's why Tilly is less friendly.

I have to go, I said, shrinking and losing the stripes.

"You always go," she accused. "Where? I want to come."

Some mad impulse had me abandon caution, and instead of fading from her dream, I padded out of it, beckoning her with my tail.

Stay close, I told her as we left her dream. It can be dangerous.

"Where are we going?"

Shall we see what your mum is dreaming about?

"We can do that?"

If you want.

Her eyes gleamed. What was I doing?

Ready? This is what you need to do...

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on 27th March at 13.44

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 87 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads. Leaving a comment makes that easier. Special thanks to Mike for inspiring the title with his recent piece here. I'd thank Blake, too, but I doubt he'll be reading this.

FantasyShort StorySeriesMicrofiction
14

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake24 days ago

    Well done on your story. Great !

  • Joe O’Connor30 days ago

    " I rippled under it, the cream-coloured fur changing to jet black." love the imagery here, and " Kids, I've learned, go more on tone than content. " is a quietly profound line. Love the gentle playfulness between the two, and the little hints about dreams and other places.

  • Will there be secrets they both wish they did not know?

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Wow! That transition was unexpected! Hope mum's dreams are too terribly dangerous or worse, cringe worthy! Great story, looking forward to more, LC!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Okay I love this twist…. I can’t wait to read what happens next. … not sure I’d want to know what my mum is dreaming about though! 😳

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Can't wait to see what her mom dreams of...

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a month ago

    Oh this was fun! I love stories about dreams :)

  • Hmmm.... I wonder where this will go next?

  • That was an interesting story to twist the gears of my mind

  • “M”about a month ago

    Wonderful

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Excellent. And my curiosity is piqued yet again.

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Sooo good! Love this one :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.