Fiction logo

A Cock About to Cro-

(15th January, Story #15/366.)

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
16
A Cock About to Cro-
Photo by Dayanara Nacion on Unsplash

Yes, Mike-in-Accounts, I'm fat. Well done you for noticing.

I heard him talking about me. He was in the middle of saying something crude and cruel, and didn't realise I'd descended from Logistics to ask a question. I was right behind him.

The gaggle of women hanging on his every word looked comical, their amused smirks freezing, eyes widening, expressions turning to horror. I could feel the beet-heat in my face, and my hands squish into fists.

Mike, in full swing and in love with sound of his own voice, kept going for several seconds, oblivious. He stopped, mid-sentence. Mid-word actually. He choked on it. Ha.

I asked my question, enjoying the seething crackle of discomfort all around me, then went back up to my desk.

He's right. I'm fat. Not like average-sized girls say it because they aren't built like an ironing board with two peas. Not curvy. Actually, really quite fat. I eat bigger portions than most people, and I eat more often, as well. You could say I am filling a gap in myself with food.

At 5pm sharp, my computer was off, desk neatened, in-tray empty. I wrestled into my coat (I'd need to go up another size), picked up my frumpy brown handbag, took the lift to save my thighs rubbing together and hurried out to catch Mike in the car park.

He had the grace to look embarrassed.

"We can sort this out now, a friendly chat, or I can go to HR and get you suspended."

He puffed up like a cock about to crow, ready to brazen and bluster his way out of it, but I cut him off.

"We both know you've done worse than bully the... what was it? Lardy Lady in Logistics?"

Anger flushed his face and flashed in his eyes, but he jerked his chin. "Alright."

Idiot. He should've made me go to HR.

"There's a diner I know. It's only a few minutes' walk."

He sneered. I saw the thought stamped around his mouth: of course you know a diner.

He never made it there.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

CONTINUES... (link below)

Word count: 365

Submitted on 15th January at 00:10 AM

*Quick Author's Note*

Thank you for reading! Please leave a comment so I can reciprocate. If you enjoyed it, please share it or read another!

The story behind the story: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 15 day streak.

I'm not linking to the others below - Finally got bored of laboriously copying over and hyperlinking the list every time! They're all in the Index, pinned to the top of my profile. I'll link to that instead.

The Prompt/Inspiration: This character popped into my head complete two nights ago, right as I was about to drop off to sleep. (This was very inconvenient, because the idea boiled and roiled around my brain and I stayed awake for hours.) This won't be the last you hear from this one. Please stick with her, because she is not at all what she seems.

If you're joining me on this "story every day" adventure, please leave a link in the comments. I'd love to see what you come up with for today. I'll try to come back and edit this to link to your piece at the bottom.

Edited to add links 👇

Her story continues here:

Please consider reading Rachel's micro for today:

And here's that Index, as promised:

SeriesShort StoryMicrofiction
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton10 days ago

    Ooh, I like the sound of her 😂

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    I do believe I started reading this one and got interrupted. Glad I came back to it.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    One in every office. We all should have vampire qualities, what a treat he would be. Moira seethes with revenge i see.

  • Good for her

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    Oooh, I see it now. Should have read it in order

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    Being overweight myself (although not quite what as much as I think this character is supposed to be), I hate when a character gets fat-shamed, but I do love when a fat-shaming character gets their comeuppance. I can’t wait to see what happens to him!

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Oh damn! Now I'm even happier that I never make comments about people Did she... did she eat him? Good way to dispose of the evidence I suppose... This was a fun story and then it turned into a great one! We've - as Randy said - either all known or been people like Mike before but that twist at the end? Oh goodness... gave me chills

  • We've all known them. We've sometimes even been them. And those of us who realize how our careless words have hurt others truly believe he received his just desserts. The only question that remains is, did you enjoy his dessert or yours more?

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    There's some slick ol' prose in this. Like it!

  • Another punch at the end! You have a fantastic knack for hitting at tones that completely change the feeling of the story!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Well, immediately I think she's offed him, but what if it's something even more intriguing...

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Here's mine for today: https://vocal.media/fiction/the-strange-wistfulness-of-used-bookstores

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Haha! Bad luck Mike. Karma was swift here! Great story. Love the lardy lady from logistics too!

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    Your character handled herself so well. Mike is an ass. Some people just are. For no other reason than they feel the need to be. This was good. Sorry I haven't followed along until now. I've been... overwhelmed. Excited to see what you develop tomorrow.

  • Andrei Z.4 months ago

    Ugh, the big mouth got into big trouble?

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Wow, that was… sudden. I loved the lady character!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    oooh yeah! Loving the ending.

  • Jeffrey Allison4 months ago

    Amazing shocks !!!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Oh, my, just how much does she eat?!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.