Feast logo

This Simple Breakfast Has Kept Me Fit for 5 Years

It takes less than 5 minutes to make.

By Joe WalterPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Day in the Life of a long distance Runner

For most of the people of my four years of high faculty, there have been particular breakfast ingredients that I ate nearly every day without fail.

The first changed into sugar cereal with milk, and the second one became vanilla flavored greek yogurt topped with banana slices and granola.

While both of those options were considered healthful at the time, I never felt first rate after ingesting them. Neither one had a stability of carbs, protein, and wholesome fats, and the excessive quantity of introduced sugar in both the cereal and yogurt caused my strength levels to crash only a few hours into the day.

But towards the end of excessive school, and especially at the beginning of my first 12 months of university, I created my new favourite breakfast alternative, handiest this one changed into specific.

It had a pleasing stability of carbs, protein, and wholesome fats. It fueled my endurance workouts (I ran across the country And track in college), and powered my mind through 8 AM lectures.

I preserve to devour it today, and it truly does help me begin the day off in an effective way. It quite literally has helped me stay match and healthy for the past 5 years. Even now, I by no means become tired of it. So what is this magical meal? It is none other than oatmeal. Here’s why it’s so remarkable.

It incorporates those key vitamins.

At the floor, oats provide a very good source of two key macronutrients — carbs and protein. When you upload a few nut butter, you get a balance of carbs, protein, and fats (all three important macronutrients).

However, whilst you dive deeper into the micronutrients, you will quickly discover that oats are chalked complete of nutrients and minerals along with manganese, phosphorus, copper, Vitamin B1, iron, selenium, and the listing goes on.

They also include fiber, which allows you to feel happy longer. This is specifically critical to me due to the fact I generally tend to do a lot within the early morning hours — writing, cooking, innovative work, exercising, and so on. I need to ensure I’m well fueled for all of those activities, and oatmeal guarantees that I am.

Whether you are looking for a brief and clean breakfast to make before faculty or paintings, oatmeal is the right choice. The plant primarily based vitamins contained within the dish will gasoline each your body and thoughts to reach new heights.

It has this key property.

It is not any secret that oatmeal is a warm, cozy, comforting dish. This makes it the suitable dish for the fall and icy months.

As the climate becomes less warm, most of the people obviously begin to gravitate towards consuming hotter meals and beverages.

I even have noticed myself doing this over the past few weeks. I’ve been swapping out my typical bloodless brew for freshly brewed warm espresso, and my smoothie bowls for warm soups.

Oatmeal is genuinely no exception. Trust me when I tell you there's not anything higher than getting back from a chilly run out of doors and playing a piping warm bowl of sparkling oatmeal mixed with fruit, nut butter, chia seeds, and ground flaxseed.

It is cheap and easy to make.

I love how reachable oatmeal is for just about anybody. When I was in college, I didn’t have the time or money to create lavish breakfast recipes. I saved it easily with oats, but that didn’t stop me from having fun.

Fortunately, you can make a lot of distinctive variations of oatmeal simply by switching up the upload-ins, toppings, and cooking method. I actually have a ton of vegan oatmeal recipes on my blog (nomeatfastfeet.Com), and you could also see a visible of other ways I use oats in a number of my day within the life motion pictures on YouTube (like the blueberry oatmeal pancakes I made in the video beneath)!

The point is, aside from all the fitness advantages, oats are extraordinarily flexible and finances friendly. I advise that everybody gives them a shot earlier than disregarding them.

Final Thoughts

While no unmarried component can magically rework your health, incorporating staple meals into your food plan which can be well balanced and make you feel proper will assist your body feel super.

I consume oatmeal regularly as it truly does fuel my daily lifestyles in a wonderful way, which helps me inch closer towards my big dreams, dreams, and objectives.

Find the wholesome meals that do the identical for you, consume greater portions of them, and also you’ll be one step closer to living your fullest, healthiest, happiest life.

healthy

About the Creator

Joe Walter

From writer during childhood to artist as I've aged.

I'm passionate about using both in my storytelling.

Sometimes

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joe WalterWritten by Joe Walter

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.