Feast logo

The Best Brisket Ever

A Mrs Huston Recipe

By Pyxy HustonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Photo courtesy of https://www.pexels.com/@yungsaac/

I fully admit that I am a wine drinker. It is my usual drink of choice when I am not making martinis, olde fashioneds and a cocktail called a Kenyan on safari. I can post the recipes for all but the Kenyan on Safari as I was given the recipe by the owner of a lovely place in Winnipeg called "The Amsterdam." If you are interested in a gin and earl grey based iced tea, then by all means stop by and ask for one. It is well worth it.

But, there is just something about cooking with wine that really elevates the finished product. So, whenever I get a brisket my go to is the following recipe. The only other way I have made brisket is to double smoke it. It is like a slice of heaven. But since I don't have access to a smoker at home, this is the next best thing.

Ingredients

 2T oil, plus 2t - I would go with a light tasting oil such as Olive or canola. Peanut oil might be a little too heavy of an oil for this recipe

3 1/2 pound, beef brisket. If you have access to a butcher, have them cut it up into three inch pieces. You can do this yourself as well. I would chill the brisket and then cut it up as it makes the meat stiffer and easier to cut up. Also, make sure you have a sharpened knife as it is easier to make mistakes if the knife is dull. I prefer one with a serrated edge myself.

 8 Shallots, halved lengthwise - you can replace this with one small to medium sized onion if you cannot find shallots. They look like little purple pearl onions and the taste is similar but a little more intense than a white onion.

6 cloves Garlic, smashed - Feel free to add more or less. I usually double to amount of garlic but that is me and I am not afraid to have dragon breath.

3c dry Red Wine - You do not need to go out and buy an expensive bottle of wine for this. In fact, the cheaper the wine is, the better for cooking. Save the expensive stuff for drinking.

Water - the amount depends. See the notes

Coarse Salt, Ground Pepper - To taste

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350C

In a large dutch oven or an oven safe pot with a lid, heat 2 tablespoons of oil over medium high heat.

Season the brisket with the salt and pepper to taste.

In small batches, cook the brisket. Turn each piece over occasionally until it is seared on all sides. It took me about twenty minutes.

Transfer the meat onto a plate. Return the pot back to the heat.

Saute the sliced shallots in the pot until browned. This took me about two to three minutes.

Add the garlic to the shallots. Allow them to cook together until fragrant. This took me about one minute.

Add the wine to the cooked shallots and garlic. bring to a gentle simmer and allow to reduce. This took me about 15 minutes.

Return the brisket to the pot. Add just enough water to cover the meat.

Allow to come to a boil.

Cover with the lid and place the pot in the oven.

Cook about 3 1/2 - 4 hours.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool before serving.

Notes

After searing the brisket, you may choose to discard the remaining fat from the pot, but, I find that using it to saute the onions and garlic makes them tastier. If you are on a low fat diet, you can discard the fat and add two more tablespoons of olive oil to the pot.

I think I may have added about five cups of water.

This post was not sponsored by "The Amsterdam." I just love the place so much! The food is amazing and the cocktails are out of this world. My partner had a major birthday and we were planning a trip to England together. Then Covid-19 hit and all the flights were cancelled. I wanted to do something to celebrate their birthday. I found out that the owner of "The Amsterdam" hosts cocktail masterclasses. We had a great time. the owner of the establishment showed up how to make a few cocktails and even had us behind the bar making the cocktails.

recipe
1

About the Creator

Pyxy Huston

Canadian Graphic Designer, Young adult novelist and gluten free recipe developer from Canada

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.