Feast logo

Summertime Fun Foods

Fill Your Summer With Memorable Experiences

By Anthony ChanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Billow926 on Unsplash.com

There are many exciting foods that come to mind when we think of summer!

The “top 5 summertime” foods include Hot Dogs, Corn on the cob, Ice cream, Lobster, and Potato salad! We often enjoy these fun foods when we visit State fairs, pack a picnic meal, or take an afternoon stroll with family and friends! It is a time to indulge our taste buds while shedding the many layers of clothing we used to protect us from the cold elements of winter.

As for me, nothing beats a 7-11 Slurpee, especially when I share the experience with my young grandchildren, Malia and Tyson. These little angels permit me to revisit an earlier time in my life when life was simpler.

Although life has become more complex, as we manage our lives with our mobile devices and forget many of our cherished interactions, we can still get back to our simpler life with some effort. We can easily accomplish this by enjoying these experiences with young family members that still have much of their precious innocence intact.

Growing Up

Back in the day, when I was growing up, summers were filled with hot and humid weather 24/7. Growing up in a low-income housing project ensured that climate control was not an option. The good news is that I never felt deprived because everyone around me lived the same way.

Some of my friends used bandannas with ice cubes to cool themselves off, and I consumed lots of tap water. No one in my neighborhood ever contemplated drinking or purchasing bottled water.

Finding creative ways to cool off during the summers was always a cherished activity. John, a buddy of mine, used a chunk of ice made in his freezer as a make-shift air conditioner. He placed this large chunk of ice several inches away from his fan. This would generate a cool temporary breeze. John swore that if temperatures rose after the ice melted, he would be asleep by then. All he needed was to feel a cool breath of air near his bed as he fell asleep, and the rest would be history!

As for me, I always waited for super-hot weather to strike, and then I would plan my 7-11 Slurpee escape. My strategy would allow me to enjoy the warm summer weather, which allowed me to shed several layers of clothing I had to wear during the winter and still manage the blistering heat simultaneously! It was a way to have my cake and eat it too!

Tyson and Malia are my escape to those simpler times because when I share my joy over drinking a freezing cold Slurpee, they look at me with even greater excitement. There is no way that anyone my age will ever be able to duplicate what these precious angels do by allowing me to relive my simpler-time childhood.

Sure, I do other things with them, like visit restaurants, museums, and supermarkets, but nothing will ever duplicate the thrill of our Slurpee experience! I only see them a few times a year because they live 2,896 miles away! To make the experience special, I usually plan it days in advance by telling them that it will be a reward if they exhibit good behavior with parents and grandparents.

But, if truth be told, I am probably just as excited as they will ever be. So take a few minutes to identify your favorite summer food, and plan your escape. Find a family member, friend, or significant other that can share your excitement.

Fair Warning

If you follow my advice, your summers will be more memorable and impactful!

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.