Feast logo

Soup For Life

Here's a New Mexican Classic

By Samantha Jamison Published 6 months ago 4 min read
1

I love soup. I love eating soup and I love making it. I feel like a witch, working at her couldron when I make soups. Ever since I was a kid, I would have at least 5 bowls of soup. I would eat it until it felt like my belly would burst. I still do, but usually 2-3 bowls of soup is enough to get me belly-bursting full.

I live in New Mexico and one of our staple ingredients is green chile. Not necessarily a seasonal thing, but in the fall, that's when the masses are harvested and roasted. That's our sign it's Autumn season. The first thing I make during this time of year: green chile chicken soup.

I cannot say that I have a favorite soup, but this one definitely sits at the top of my list. I don't know what age I was when I first had it, I've had it for as long as I can remember. It's such a wholesome meal; almost exactly like chicken noodle soup, except with green chile instead of noodles. One of those dishes that gets the nostalgic feelings bubbling to the surface, remembering your favorite tastes as a child.

I cannot remember the first time I had it, but I remember the time I realized how much I loved this dish. I had just finished my 3rd bowl and went up for a 4th. My mom and dad laughed, saying "dang! you're either starving or you really love this soup" and I said: "I REALLY love this soup! Can we have it all the time?!" It was a very large pot and so for the next few days, we did indeed have soup.

Every time I was sick, my mom or dad would get the ingredients and make me this specific soup. Bless them. And now as an adult, whenever I am sick or my partner is sick I make this soup. We curl up with our blankies and throw on our favorite cartoons.

The spiciness of the chile really helps to clear those sinuses. Just be careful not to add to much chile. One time my dad added way too much and the soup wasn't even edible, it was WAY too spicy! I still had at least 2 bowls.

First you want to prep your ingredients:

>2-3 chicken breasts (or 3-4 chicken thighs) >salt >pepper > garlic powder >onion powder >paprika >minced garlic >yellow onion >2-3 carrots >2-3 celery sticks >roasted green chile >2 russet potatoes >olive oil >chicken bone broth >butter

First cut up the chicken into strips and season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, minced garlic, and then throw some chopped up green chile with it too. Set it aside and let that marinate while prepping the rest of the veggies.

Then cut up the carrots, celery sticks, cut the onion in half and dice it, and chop up the green chile. I chop up about 5-6 green chiles; I may or may not add all of it depending on the spice level. I do like to leave the seeds, but if you prefer to remove them, that's your call. I like the spice!

In a large pot, start with some olive oil, about 1 tablespoon and throw the chicken in there and let that cook, take it out and set it aside, you will shred it or chop it up later.

In that same pot, add about a tablespoon of butter, the onions, celery, and carrots. I spice these up a little with some salt and pepper and I throw in some minced garlic, stir it up, let it cook for about 10 minutes and then throw in 5-6 cups of broth and bring it to a boil. Then throw in the diced potatoes and more chopped up green chile, letting those potatoes cook and letting the veggies get soft.

While that's going on, you're going to shred the chicken or chop it up, whatever you prefer. Shredded is how I've had it since I was a kid. Once it's all done, you can throw the chicken back in the pot and turn it down to simmer.

I've gotten into the habit of trying my food before serving and so after about 10-15 minutes of simmering, I taste if it needs any more seasonings or green chile and add as needed.

Just remember, green chile can be very spicy. Be careful how much you add and remember to taste to ensure it's to your liking. Keep in mind too that it only gets spicier as it sits. Remove the seeds if you must!

Growing up and even still, this recipe provides me such comfort. I would light up and get so happy when I would see the huge pot sitting up on the stovetop, filled to the brim with this soup. And now as an adult, I feel just giddy as I walk around gathering the ingredients I need. Always wondering how I can change it up. Maybe this time I will add corn next time I do ground turkey and crushed tomatoes instead of chicken? Anything is possible!

And if you're looking for the authentic New Mexico Hatch Green Chile taste, you can visit The Hatch Green Chile Store and order roasted green chile online!

I hope this soup provides you with as much comfort it provides me.

cuisinerecipe
1

About the Creator

Samantha Jamison

I'm back into writing and can't wait to get some stories that have been moving around in my head. I love to write fiction and I love to journal. My hopes are to become a better writer and avid reader. I love wine and cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.