Feast logo

Rick's Heart Smart Spinach Salad

Eat Your Way To Happiness!!!

By Rick Henry Christopher Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
17

I don't proclaim to be a great cook or anything. I'm far from an expert… But I do love to eat and I know what I like.

The following is a recipe I concocted back in the 1990s. I call it Rick's Heart Smart Spinach Salad.

For each ingredient (not counting liquids, oils, powdered spices) I am including a song that represents the ingredient and sets the mood for the food prep process.

Let's begin with:

Spinach

I usually buy fresh spinach. But if you wish you can purchase pre-washed packaged spinach. Note I still rinse the pre-washed spinach.

1. Fill a colander bowl with water (keep the colander in the bowl).

2. Mix ¼ cup of vinegar into the water.

3. Insert fresh spinach into the bowl. Swish around in water.

4. Lift the colander out of the bowl and let spinach drain.

5. Repeat steps 1 through 4 again as fresh spinach usually has grits of dirt in it and there is nothing more unappealing than getting dirt between your teeth as you eat your salad.

Next…

1. Pour rinsed and drained spinach on a towel (or paper towels) and pat dry.

2. Add spinach into a good sized mixing bowl.

White Onion

Note: you can use red onion or yellow onion to please your taste. I prefer the pungent white onion

1. Cut onion in half

2. Remove peel

3. Mince onion into small pieces

4. Pour onion into the bowl with the spinach.

Avocado

Note: Hass avocado works fine. I prefer fuerte when I can find them

1. Cut one avocado (or two if you really love avo).

2. Mix avocado into the bowl with onion and spinach.

Tomato

I use beefsteak tomatoes. But roma or cherry tomatoes or any other tomato works just fine.

1. Core tomato

2. Chop tomato into chunks

3. Mix into bowl with other ingredients

Garlic Clove

1. Peel one garlic clove.

2. Cut into small chunks (you can use a garlic press but I prefer to cut the garlic)

3. Mix into bowl with other ingredients

I use only one clove to give the hint of garlic.

To peel the garlic do the following:

Bring a bit of water to a boil, and then cover the clove with the boiling water in a bowl. After a minute in the boiling water, the clove should slip right out of its papery skin.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Lastly, take ⅛ of a cup of olive oil and ⅛ of a cup of white wine vinegar (or red wine vinegar) and pour into the bowl.

Gently mix salad in the bowl thoroughly.

Slivered Almonds

Garnish with a cup of slivered almonds on top.

But wait!!! How about the croutons???

BREAD

I use 3 to 5 slices of whole grain sourdough (sometimes Jewish rye)

Cut the bread into bite-size pieces, about 1-inch

Transfer the bread cubes to a large mixing bowl. Evenly drizzle 2 or 3 tablespoons of olive oil and the following seasonings: salt, garlic powder, and dried basil. You can also add a tablespoon of parmesan cheese. Toss well until the bread is evenly coated.

Preheat the air fryer. Air fry bread for 5 to six minutes. At the 3-minute mark, shake the bread to toss in order to cook evenly.

Now you have beautiful croutons for your salad.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Pour your salad into an ornamental serving bowl and impress your guests. You should have enough salad to serve four and have some left over for yourself.

I usually leave the croutons on the side so people can add as they please

You might want to have a few salad dressings on hand - ranch, Bleu cheese, Italian, Caesar… just in case.

Enjoy your salad!!!

recipehow tohealthyfeaturediy
17

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Sounds delicious! I love spinach.

  • The salad sounds lovely and so does the music

  • Laura Jamesabout a year ago

    I listened to each song as I scrolled down to each prep instruction. I knew each song from the past, so I only needed about 15-20 seconds to get an emotional connection. I memorized the recipe in my head from these deep memories of the songs. Very clever!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Mmm! Spinach. Now I have to buy some spinach pies when I go out later. I know the salad is healthier, but this reminded me of a place not too far that makes the best spinach pies. Good read!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I love your "fresh" take on providing a recipe.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Nice!

  • Debbi Lonmonabout a year ago

    Very smart, I love the way that you incorporated the music into your spinach salad!

  • Irene Economouabout a year ago

    I should know better than to read this wonderful article before lunch time!! Rick, I can’t wait to make this elegant spinach salad with the trimmings!! I love that you have also taken the time to to explain some easy steps to make the salad even healthier with some spinach-washing steps. You are so right that some sand or dirt grit still finds a way to sneak past the triple-washing done by the packaging company. Now the extra kick that takes this article over the top is the delicious addition of song-appropriate selections to set the mood to enjoy this heart-healthy meal! Thank you, Rick!!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Delicious! I must try. Thank you so much for sharing!

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    I haven’t eaten a salad in quite a while! This looks good! Though I’m not a fan of onions lol

  • Music and food, the best things in life! Really enjoyed this a lot!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Superb spinach salad story!!! Smartly scribed!!! 💖💕😊

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is so cool, the playlist with the ingredients 👌👍🥰

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Yum, yum, yum!!! I have all the ingredients but spinach at the moment or I would make this right now. I will definitely be making this later. And I loved the themed playlist to go along. Great article :)

  • Clever way to share your recipe , Excellent

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Sounds delish & right up my ally, subbing GF bread for the croutons. :)

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    I also love to eat, and will be trying this recipe. Also, loved the music I am adding them to my playlist to enjoy as well ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Sounds great. I would use red onion though, or maybe even green. hmmm.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.