Feast logo

Reba's Salsa

Hits the Spot

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Reba's Salsa
Photo by Derick McKinney on Unsplash

I think summer is my favorite time of year to prepare foods that are refreshing and fun to eat. Fresh Salsa, also known as Pico de Gallo is a perfect side dish for summer picnics, barbeques, and family gatherings.

Since I shared my guacamole recipe I figured I should share my Salsa Recipe. For summer barbeques and family gatherings, I recommend making this salsa at least one day before the event. Plus, you will want to have it thoroughly marinated before adding 1 - 2 tablespoons of this salsa to Reba's Guacamole. (The ingredients for the guacamole are listed after the instructions for the salsa).

Reba's Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 9 medium fresh tomatoes, (devein and deseed)
  • 4 Green Onions (or 1/2 red onion)
  • 4 Serano Chiles stems, ribs, and seeds removed (less or more to taste)
  • 2 Habaneros stems, ribs, and seeds removed (less or more to taste)
  • 1 whole clove of garlic (press with garlic press)
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro
  • Juice from three limes (less or more depending on taste)
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

Prep the Ingredients - Roughly chop the tomatoes, chili peppers, and onions. Be careful while handling the chili peppers. I use disposable gloves when handling the peppers.

Side Note: Many years ago, I was making this fresh salsa without wearing gloves. There are two things that happened. First, the oils from the peppers were absorbed into my skin and under my nails. My hands and nails burned for a couple of days. Second, even after washing my hands the oils still remained. I scratched or brushed the left side of my face. In an instant, my face swelled up and then sagged. I had lost all feeling on that side of my face and I looked like I had had a stroke. After a couple of days, my face was back to normal. So, wear gloves!

Set aside some of the seeds from the peppers. If the salsa isn't hot enough, you can add a few for more heat.

Make the Salsa - Place all of the ingredients in the bowl of a food processor fitted with the blade. Pulse only a few times, just enough to finely dice the ingredients and not enough to purée. If you don't have a food processor, you can finely dice by hand.

Side Note: I am not really good at using a food processor - I tend to walk away... I do use a hand chopper. If you don't have one, most grocery stores have them. I have about three. My favorite is a Pampered Chef chopper.

You can either blend or chop depending on how you like your salsa. I personally like chunky salsa so I chop everything.

Add the Seasonings - After the vegetables have been chopped place them in a serving bowl, adding the remaining ingredients. Let the salsa sit for an hour (room temperature or chilled) for the flavors to combine.

Tips and Tricks:

  1. If the chilis make the salsa too hot, add some more chopped tomato.
  2. If it's not hot enough, carefully add a few of the seeds from the chilis (or 1 pinch of ground cumin)

The salsa will keep refrigerated for up to 5 days. Have fun making salsa!!!!!!! :)

Don't forget to pick up your favorite tortilla chips and the ingredients for Reba's Guacamole.

Reba's Guacamole

Ingredients:

1 packet of your favorite guacamole seasoning

3 Haas avocados, halved, seeded, and peeled

1-2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced

1-2 limes, squeezed, juiced, or pressed (depending on how juicy)

1 clove of garlic, minced

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

sour cream

cream cheese

recipe

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesWritten by Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.