Feast logo

Reba's Guacamole

With a Touch of Pico

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Reba's Guacamole
Photo by yakshi virmani on Unsplash

Shortly after I got married, I started helping my mother-in-law in the kitchen when we had large family gatherings. I watched her make pico de gallo, albondigas, tamales, and guacamole. For as long as I can remember, I have loved Mexican food and to be taught how to make these foods was really exciting for me.

We have several birthdays that fall during the summer and over the years I have been asked to make my now famous guacamole. Up until now, I haven't shared my recipe or what I add to it that gives it a bit of a bite or its punch.

This summer, for my father's 80th birthday we are camping in the Utah mountains. As a surprise, I will be bringing my guacamole for the family birthday dinner. It is sure to be a hit.

Reba's Guacamole

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of your favorite guacamole seasoning
  • 3 Haas avocados, halved, seeded, and peeled
  • 1-2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1-2 limes, squeezed, juiced, or pressed (depending on how juicy)
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • sour cream
  • cream cheese

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl place the scooped avocado pulp and lime juice, and toss to coat. Drain, and reserve the lime juice, after all of the avocados have been coated.
  2. Using a potato masher add the salt and mash. Then, fold in the tomatoes and garlic.
  3. Add 1 tablespoon of the reserved lime juice. Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then serve.

My Secret Ingredient:

For spicy guacamole you can add about a tablespoon of your favorite chile sauce; salsa or finely chopped pepper (serrano, habanero, etc.) My favorite chile pepper is a habanero because they have a sweet flavor beneath the burn. However, rather than adding one of these peppers, I add 2 tablespoons of my homemade pico de gallo. I make the pico de gallo a full day earlier and let it marinate in the refrigerator before adding it to the guacamole.

Pico de Gallo

Ingredients

  • 6 roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • ½ red onion, minced
  • 1/2 English cucumber, minced
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 habanero pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1 serrano pepper, seeded and minced
  • ½ lime, juiced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 pinch of garlic powder
  • 1 pinch of ground cumin, or to taste
  • salt and ground black pepper to taste

Stir tomatoes, onion, cilantro, habanero pepper, serrano pepper, lime juice, garlic, garlic powder, cumin, salt, and pepper together in a bowl.

Tips & Tricks:

  1. For the best flavors, use all fresh ingredients. I usually pick the vegetables from my garden. If I am missing any ingredients, I will visit the local Farmer's Market.
  2. When adding tomatoes try to remove the seeds and only chop in the fleshy part of the tomato. This will keep the guacamole from getting too runny.
  3. Limes are very strong and before you decide to add the juice of a whole lime, squeeze it into a dish and add gradually until the flavor is to your liking.
  4. Garlic is another tricky ingredient. If you use granulated garlic be prepared to season the same way you would salt - less is more. Fresh garlic can either make your guacamole sweet or very hot. Taste your pressed garlic before adding it and then gradually add it to the mix.
  5. Sour cream adds a nice punch to the guacamole - don't put too much -maybe 1/4 - 1/2 cup depending on how large your avocados are.
  6. The best part is the cream cheese. Don't get the whipped cream cheese. Cream cheese is thick and will help keep your guacamole from becoming soup. When I am making a batch for a party (using 8-12 avocados) I will add a full block of Philadelphia Cream Cheese. Otherwise, it is about 1/4 - 1/2 cup.
  7. Oh, about the packet of guacamole seasoning - If you are hard-pressed, or you aren't sure about how much of the dry ingredients to put in, the seasoning packet is a great option.

Enjoy with your favorite chips.

recipe
1

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.