Feast logo

Pressure Cooker Tacos

Make taco night a breeze.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Pressure Cooker Tacos by Amanda Payne

The best pressure cooker tacos are made with tenderly cooked taco-flavored bite-sized meat served with Mexican rice, refried beans, and tortillas.

I used to cook these tacos in a crock-pot, but I whipped out my pressure cooker one day when I was pressed for time. I was impressed! The meat was so tender you could literally cut it with a spoon. If you don't believe me, try it!

Serves: 8

Serving Size: 1/8 of everything

Calories: 338

Fat: 6 g

Carbohydrates: 42 g

Protein: 28 g

Pressure Cooker Tacos Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds of stew meat (I used venison)
  • 2 teaspoons of chili powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon of ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons of onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 pack of Knorr Mexican Rice Fiesta Side Dish 5.4 ounces
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon of butter
  • 16 ounces of refried beans
  • 8 flour tortillas, medium

Getting It Done:

  1. Cut the meat (venison, beef, or whatever you use) into stew meat, making bite-sized pieces.
  2. In a small bowl, mix 2 teaspoons of chili powder, 1 1/4 teaspoon of ground cumin, 1/4 teaspoon of paprika, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder, 2 teaspoons of onion powder, 1/4 teaspoon of dried oregano, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
  3. Cover the meat with the seasoning mixture.
  4. Place the seasoned meat in a pressure cooker. Do not add water. Cook on the meat setting for 45 minutes.
  5. While the meat is cooking, prepare the Mexican rice as instructed on the package.
  6. Chop the onion and heat a pan to medium-high heat. Fry the onion until it is somewhat transparent.
  7. Add the refried beans to the onions, heat, and set aside.
  8. After the meat is done, use a slotted spoon to remove it from the pressure cooker and into another bowl. This will drain most of the liquid. You can shred the meat or leave it whole.
  9. Heat the tortillas, serve and enjoy!

I hope you enjoy my recipe! Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you like it. I appreciate your support very much.

Take a look at my Pressure Cooker Tacos video on Rumble...

For this recipe, I used venison, but you can use beef. If you want to spice it up a little more, you can add a dash or two more of the seasoning after removing the meat from the pressure cooker. You can also put a little cheese on top if you'd like. I like using pepper jack, but cheddar or fiesta cheese would be tasty as well.

I strangely like eating these tacos without the tortillas, which technically makes it not a taco, lol. My husband folds tortillas and eats them like bread. Our sons make tacos with theirs. It is good either way you want to enjoy them.

How to Heat Tortillas

To heat tortillas in the oven, wrap them in foil and heat at 300°F for 10-15 minutes. To heat them on the stovetop, warm a pan to medium heat and heat each tortilla for about 30 seconds on each side. To heat them in the microwave, place 4 tortillas on a plate. Cover them with barely damp paper towels, then microwave for about 25 seconds at a time until warm.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Tamale Pie, Chili Mac and Cheese, and Taco Stuffed Taters.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This taco recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.