Feast logo

Hash Brown Balls

Hot, crispy, and tasty!

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Hash Brown Balls by Amanda Payne

Hash Brown Balls are ground venison hamburger meat mixed with fresh pork sausage, two different kinds of cheeses, and shredded hash browns. They are formed into balls and baked until golden perfection.

These are the juicy meatballs you will ever eat. Let me tell you why they are so juicy. It is because of the hash browns and cheese! The taters have liquid and provide extra water, and the cheese adds fat. I hate to say this, but added fat always means juicier.

The ingredients listed are for a large batch. It serves eight people. If that is too much, try cutting them by half.

Yields: 40 Hash Brown Balls

Serving Size: 5 Hash Brown Balls

Calories: 732

Fat: 51 g

Carbohydrates: 30 g

Protein: 37 g

Hash Brown Balls Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of Neese’s Country Sausage (or fresh pork sausage), raw
  • 1 pound of venison hamburger, raw
  • 12 ounces of cream cheese softened
  • 2 cups of Bisquick
  • 3 cups of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 30 ounces (about 4 cups) of frozen shredded hash brown potatoes

Getting It Done:

  1. Set the cream cheese out so it can soften to room temperature.
  2. Preheat the oven to 400°F.
  3. In a large bowl, combine pork sausage, venison, cream cheese, cheddar cheese, Bisquick, and half of the hash browns.
  4. Gently mix and then add the rest of the hash browns and mix again. This makes it easier to blend.
  5. Form the hash brown balls. They should be about 1 1/2 inches in diameter.
  6. Place them on a cookie sheet and bake for about 20-25 minutes or until they are well browned.
  7. Remove from the oven, let them cool for a few minutes, and enjoy!

If you do not want to bake these hash brown balls, you can put them on the grill or smoker. Still use a cookie sheet, though. They turn out amazingly!

You can use whatever type of ground meats you prefer. I used ground pork sausage and venison, but ground beef, chicken, and turkey will work well with this recipe.

Hash Brown Balls are perfect for any meal of the day. They are great served with fried or scrambled eggs or even on a bun. Try them with a salad, baked beans, pasta salad, or macaroni and cheese. Yum, yum!

To reheat the leftovers, preheat the oven to 300°F. Place them on a cookie sheet and cover them with aluminum foil. Heat until warm enough, which will likely be around seven minutes. You can also use the microwave, but they will lose their crispiness. Heat for about 30 seconds at a time until warm.

I hope you enjoy the recipe!

Take a look at my Hash Brown Balls video on Rumble...

Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you enjoy it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes using potatoes: Heavenly Tenderloin Bites, Super Easy Ham and Potato Casserole, and Venison Hamburger Hash.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Hash Brown Balls recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.