Feast logo

Wisconsin Kabobs

Meat and veggie time!

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Wisconsin Kabobs by Amanda Payne

Venison brined in sea salt brine, marinaded in soy sauce and olive oil, sprinkled with seasoning, drizzled with honey mustard, and perfectly grilled with your favorite fruits and veggies.

I love grilling food, especially venison. I'll eat it no matter how it is fixed, but the grill, smoker, and crockpot are my favorites. Oh, and I love using a cast-iron skillet, too.

I haven't had shish kabobs in quite a while, but I love them. They are versatile in that you can create a million and one different recipes. Plus, they are so easy and quick to make. I mean, what's not to like about a shish kabob?

You can use whatever type of meat you prefer. I used venison, but beef, chicken, and turkey work well with this recipe. If you have a garden, use whatever veggies you have on hand. If you use venison and veggies from your garden, almost your whole meal would be something you provided for yourself, and I find that pretty remarkable!

Wisconsin Kabobs Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds of venison, cubed (or other meat)
  • Desired fruits and veggies, cubed and coated in olive oil
  • Honey mustard
  • Sea salt (4 tablespoons of sea salt per 1 quart of water)
  • Water (4 tablespoons of sea salt per 1 quart of water)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of table salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup of soy
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil

Getting It Done:

  1. Cube the venison into small cubes. Mix water and sea salt and let the venison sit in the brine for 30 hours. Mix enough brine so that the meat is fully covered.
  2. Drain and rinse the venison from the brine.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together 1/4 cup of low sodium soy and 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Add the venison and marinate for six hours.
  4. Completely submerge the skewers in water and soak them for two hours before using them.
  5. Chop the desired fruits and veggies and coat them well in olive oil.
  6. Place the venison, veggies, and fruits on the skewers, leaving space between each item.
  7. Mix salt, sugar, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper in a small bowl. Sprinkle the seasoning onto the meat and veggies as desired.
  8. Drizzle honey mustard on each individual skewer as needed.
  9. Place on preheated medium-high heat grill, with some space between each kabob so they can get done evenly.
  10. Grill the kabobs for eight to ten minutes, depending on how well done you want them. Turn them only as needed.
  11. When done, remove, and serve!
Wisconsin Kabobs by Amanda Payne

To store leftovers, place them in an airtight container in the fridge. They will stay fresh for a couple of days. To reheat, preheat the oven to 300°F. Place them on a cookie sheet or baking pan and cover them with aluminum foil. Bake for about 7 minutes or until warm. You can reheat them in the microwave, but the veggies may become soggy, and the meat may dry and toughen.

I hope you enjoy the recipe! Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you enjoy it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Bacon-Wrapped Backstrap, Venison Foil Packets, and Heavenly Tenderloin Bites.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

The Wisconsin Kabobs recipe was submitted and published to deerrecipes.online by my friend Jeff Vance. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.