Feast logo

McDos

Going to McDonald’s in France

By Chloe GilholyPublished 25 days ago 3 min read
5

McDonald’s always has a different menu depending on what region you’re in. And all the different names it has too. So if I say Maccies I mean UK McDonald’s and McDo is the French McDonalds. McDo feels a lot more fancy. When I hear people talk about McDonald’s here, they never call it McDonalds. I always hear them say McDo. McDonald’s in France probably gets a special mention in pop culture thanks to Vincent Vegas in Pulp Fiction. The first meal on my Paris trip was the McChevre (goats cheese) wrap, green tea and macaroons.

I went to two McDo’s in Paris and they seem to have different stuff on. Both times I went in they weren’t servicing any alcoholic drinks like social media say they do. I’m not sure if they stopped serving beer and wine at McDonald’s now or if it’s only done during certain times of the day or at different places.

The one near Gard Du Nord had only chocolate and raspberry macaroons, but the Paris Republiquw one also had lemon and cheesecake flavour. When I looked on the McDonald’s French website they also did cheesecake. Didn’t see any when I was there nor was it available to order on the menu. Though it’s pretty cool to see all the different stuff they do here.

When I am ordering Maccies at home I normally have either the McPlant or the Veggie deluxe, neither of these are on the French menu. I heard Mcdo’s did veggie burger a few years ago but it wasn’t vegetarian and a lot of people complained. That might be why it’s not on the menu anymore. If you’re a vegan, you probably won’t find anything other than chips, salad and juice.

The pasta salads look nice, though it’s strange to see pasta here in McDonald’s because it’s not something I would associate with the place.

Cheeey chips and mango & papaya smoothie

I think the cheesy chips would be popular if they did it in the UK. Cheesy chips is a popular thing to order at the fish and chip shops. The breakfast menu looked pretty much the same as they have in the UK but with the extra bakery stuff like the crossiants, macarons and pain au chocolate.

Even though the vegetarian choices feel more limited, I quite like what I had. Then again, there’s not really a lot of veggie options in Maccies either. And I heard the fries in the US McDonald’s aren’t suitable for vegetarians cause they use beef oil. I don’t know if that is still the case.

The goats cheese salad wrap was good, but I don’t think it would be popular here as goats cheese isn’t that common here. You can buy goats cheese at most supermarkets but I rarely see it in many restaurants.

I think they do the mango smoothie in the UK too but I am not sure if it had papaya in it or not. It was interesting seeing them make the smoothie in front of me cause they had a blender behind the counter.

I could have got more macaroons, croissant or pain au chocolate at Mcdo’s but I had a few at my accommodation and after the big breakfast, I was like no more for now. I need to walk it all off.

Interestingly enough, I can only access the French McDonald’s website in France. The ques downstairs are very long now. One person has just ordered a wrap an a coffee. There’s a lot of locals around me. I think that’s a good sign. I think the only way to access the McDo menu outside of France is going to Deliveroo or just eat to access their menu.

restaurantspop culturecuisine
5

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll25 days ago

    Thank you sharing this French McDo experience ♥️♥️♥️♥️

  • Ameer Bibi25 days ago

    Your article covers the whole story about the mc Donald's

  • ROCK 25 days ago

    Good coverage! I remember forty years ago in Nantes being asked if I wanted to eat at McDonald's by a French friend. I was shocked at the selection. I live in Sweden and we have cinnamon buns and typically Swedish foods added to the basic Big Mac menu. It's weird. I wonder if in Japan they serve sushi with chopsticks at the drive in window, lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.