Feast logo

Level Up Your Curry Night

Flat breads (very, VERY easy flat breads)

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
13

Did you know you can make amazing flat breads extremely easily, with two ingredients?

If you're white British, like me, there's a reasonable chance you might not have known that, and I'm about to hand you the secret that will unlock the second part of your life.

If not, for the love of god stop reading because otherwise I will be so embarassed at teaching my Granny how to suck... something... that my level of cringe will bring my own arsehole right up through my digestive tract and on to my tongue. I'm serious. It's not worth the halfpenny or whatever. Just don't do that to me.

Here's the secret:

Ingredients

  • 250g each of greek yoghurt and self raising flour

That's it. That is, as the Beatles might have said, ALL YOU NEED.

  • Mix it together until it forms a dough
  • Finish mixing with your hands
  • Divide into 8 pieces
  • Roll flat, or squash with your hands, whatever. These things are pretty robust.
  • Chuck them in a hot dry pan, let them cook a bit, flip, let them cook a bit more. You know how cooking works.
  • I like to squash them a bit after I flip them (they usually puff up noticeably). No idea if it helps, I just feel like it helps them cook through in the middle or something 🤷‍♀️

Notes:

  • Use a small amount of olive oil on the palms of your hands and your work surface to stop the dough from sticking. Got that? OIL. NOT FLOUR. Flour will burn in the dry pan. IT WILL BURN.
  • I have not tried them with low fat yoghurt. I have no idea how that would turn out. If you try it, let me know.
  • BABYSIT THEM. Breadsit? Don't wander off and look up cat videos, or go for a poo, or sponsor a penguin, or try to make too many other sides. Keep an eye on these little suckers. They are WORTH IT. If they turn out golden and soft, you will be in mango chutney heaven. If you burn them, you'll cry.
  • I like using a pan with a lid, I feel they turn out better. Do whatever you like. It's hard to get these wrong.
  • Did I mention mango chutney?

Variations

You can jazz these up any way you like. It's a very versatile starting point for other stuff.

  • Make them into garlic bread.
  • Make them into a pizza base (works very well with rosemary and a little coarse salt sprinkled on).
  • Add coriander (give me a wave if you know it as cilantro).
  • I like kneading in a little chopped coriander and some garlic, then sprinkling with nigella seeds on one side. It makes me feel fancy.
  • NB. Plain is also delightful and not to be sneezed at.

Are you gonna try these? Let me know in the comments, and tell me how they turn out 😁

Cooking is my other love. I'm not saying I'm any good at it. I just like it. Every so often, I share recipes I'm loving at the moment. Like this 👇

I like stuff that is easy in terms of technique, and inexpensive in terms of moolah. Bonus points if it's also simple (fewer ingredients), versatile (easy to substitute some things for other things and change it up depending on what's my cupboard or what I fancy), or innuendo-able (makes it funner to write about). Double bonus points if it's appropriated from another culture (that's our entire culinary wheelhouse).

I've learned how to make a few sides for curry night. After a fashion, anyway. Bombay potatoes and Aloo Tuk are my favourites, after these flat breads. (Potatoes are my OTHER other great love )

A hobbitses after my own heart.

Thank you for reading!

Edited for a couple of teensy typos.

vegetarianrecipehow tocuisine
13

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Haha. I'm so glad I found this rabbit hole. Now excuse me while I go watch cat videos, or.have a poo, or something.

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    I have never made a curry.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Mmmm. I definitely will try them with curry. I imagine they will have a spicy sourdough flavor which I am all about. Thank you for sharing.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I’m going to try these! I love simple and it doesn’t get any easier than mixing Greek yogurt and flour. Thanks for sharing! (I am also a Samwise fan, by the way.)

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    "POE-Tate-OHHs" and penguins protest your distracting their doaners!! I seldom cook, my wife hates my cooking, but I'm still busting a gut over this one: 'my level of cringe will bring my own arsehole right up through my digestive tract and on to my tongue'. Yum!!! 🤣🤣🤣

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Full confession: 1) Not white British. I read it anyway. 2) Curry night? Ok, now that that's out of the way, I was thoroughly entertained while (whilst) learning a new, simple recipe that I will be trying out as soon as I can pick up some greek yogurt (youghurt). Thanks for a fun and informative read!

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    +5 for Lord of the Rings gag

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Hahahaha! Well done! This is how food blogging should be done. No fooling around with memories as a toddler, no chatting about your day, just straight up "I got a recipe, don't judge me, here it is." Bam! Take my ❤️ and subscription and go!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.